The Most Telling Thing About Us

believe

In my last post, I asked you to pray for me as I trust God for a 2017 miracle concerning my writing. Today, I can tell you our prayers are being answered. But I must be honest; it hasn’t been easy. The enemy has fought me daily. Thankfully, my Defender and Advocate has outranked His opponent every time. Strangely enough, the adversary’s tactics have served to boost my faith, rather than defeat it.

Do you agree the most telling thing about us is our struggle? We all know to struggle in this life is human; it’s natural. But it’s unnatural to fully submit to God the self we were born with, isn’t it? Even to the One who created us.

To truly surrender our all to God, we must be willing to let go of our pride and selfish desires, as well as our fears and doubts.  I’m thinking that’s impossible apart from a humility that only comes from God.

And yet, regardless of how much we love God, it’s still possible for us to hold something back from Him. And instead of dealing with it, we sometimes choose to stuff it or struggle with it unsuccessfully.

I’ve had the privilege of walking close to God for fifty years. Along the way, He has blessed me, as well as my family in ways I never would have imagined. And yet, I’ve continually struggled with guilt over the feeling of having kept something from God by not successfully pursuing the potential He has for my writing.

How is it possible for God to continue to bless us when He knows we’re holding something from Him? It’s possible because He is a God of the impossible, full of forgiveness and patience.  

But He’s also a persistent God who never gives up in his pursuit to raise us up to become more than we can be on our own.

This is why the Holy Spirit continues to bug us when something’s not right. But He never stops blessing us, even when a piece of our faith is missing.

Even when He doesn’t have all of us, He has a way of using what’s left of us to bring glory to Him. That’s an enigma to me. But then His unmerited favor is an enigma in itself, isn’t it? He gives us what we don’t deserve. And He doesn’t give us what we do deserve.

Only a few weeks ago, God revealed a truth to me that could have been very painful if it hadn’t been so freeing. All these years, I’ve been struggling under the wrong assumption. I’ve never doubted God was able to do in and through us more than we could ever imagine. 

But I had a myriad of reasons why I couldn’t do my part. I’m too lazy. I’m not smart or educated enough. I’m not disciplined or organized enough. And now, I’m too old. And the truth is, I’m more afraid of success than failure.

All those things are still true. But it was as if God said to me, “Don’t you think I knew all those things about you when I said, ‘I AM ABLE. Don’t you realize the potential of my power is greater in and through your weaknesses than through your strengths. (II Cor. 12:9) That is if you’ll let them go and trust Me with them.”

That’s when a light shone so bright it hurt my heart to think I’d missed it before. All these years, it hasn’t been my inadequacies that has held me back. My lack of faith has prevented me from allowing God to navigate me and my dream to reality. Time and again, I’d been trying and failing to become a different person than God made me to be.

As I pondered these things, the defining question waited in the wings of my heart. Was I ready to receive God’s power over my unbelief? After years of excuses, I stepped onto the stage of surrender to fully relinquish my struggle and to believe, really BELIEVE God for a miracle.

And now my faithful reader, perhaps God has stirred within you a need or desire to expect a miracle this year. If so, I invite you to join me in this journey of faith. I can guarantee you one thing. It won’t be a smooth ride. But by God’s grace, it will be an exciting and fruitful one.

Next time, I’ll tell you about some of the methods the enemy has used to try to discourage me. But I’ll also share the nuggets God has provided to help me rise above the fray.

Comments
4 Responses to “The Most Telling Thing About Us”
  1. Nora says:

    Awesome. So awesome!

  2. mbwelsh says:

    The Lord has great things in store!!!

Leave a Reply

