The Kink In Our Armor

joan-arc-25233199

Last week, I said I would share with you how God is giving me victory over my stubborn mental block and erratic emotional state. That is, how He is replacing my yucky feelings with expectation and hope.

I hesitate to attempt to raise a victory banner over my screwed-up thought life. The truth is spiritual success can be short-lived, elusive and oh so fragile. That’s because the enemy’s strategy is to commandeer our triumph and stomp it back into the battlefield of our minds.

What do we do then? Ideally, we rise from the dust of defeat, brush ourselves off and examine our armor for the kink that left us vulnerable.

If you’d like to join me, let’s do that together right now. Perhaps the following exercise will help us identify any kinks in our armor. First, we’ll conduct an Equipment Inspection to make sure we have the whole armor of God intact.

God’s Body Armor  (Ephesians 6:10-20)

*the belt of truth: Am I allowing God’s Word to permeate my thinking, my plans and my priorities?

*the breastplate of righteousness: When I go into battle, is my character my defense?

*feet fitted with readiness that comes from the gospel of peace: Are my “feet” protected and prepared to share the gospel wherever God takes me?

*my shield of faith: Is my faith focused to protect my vulnerabilities and prepare me to extinguish “the flaming arrows of the evil one?”

*the helmet of salvation: Is my helmet of assurance in place to protect my mind and display my victory?

*the sword of the Spirit: Am I equipped and prepared with the truth of God’s Word and the filling of His Spirit as my counselor, my guide and my strength?

*the power of prayer: Am I committed to the importance of praying as a way of life? And am I an advocate of the power of effective prayer led by the Holy Spirit?

faith vs. fear

Do you detect a kink in your armor? Something to think about, right? I confess I know exactly where my kink has been. Without realizing it, I have allowed my shield of faith to slip from its rightful place. As a result, the enemy has bombarded me with doubts that turn into fears that I’m too old, too undisciplined and not smart enough to pursue my dream to write for God.

In his book, My Utmost for His Highest edited by James Reismann, Oswald Chambers says, “If the frontline of attack is not about clothes and food, it may be about money; or friends or lack of friends; or the line may be drawn over difficult circumstances. It is one steady invasion, and these things will come in like a flood, unless we allow the Spirit of God to raise up the banner against it.”

My friend, if you identify with any of this, this is my prayer for us both:

Lord God, we believe your grace is sufficient to meet our every need. You promise to perfect your power through our weaknesses. (II Cor. 12:9) Does this not mean the potential of your power is greater through our weaknesses than our natural strengths? If so, help us to rise above our fears and doubts and trust you to fulfill the potential you’ve ordained for us. Restore our hope, renew our joy and raise your flag of victory over us. In Jesus’ Name, Amen

happy child

Do you have a dream or burning desire that honors God but seems far beyond your reach? If so, reach for it by faith. And who knows? Perhaps God has a miracle waiting just for you. What do you think?

Comments
3 Responses to “The Kink In Our Armor”
  1. Nora says:

    Liz,
    Even in your moments of confession you are light years ahead of me. Today I had the problem that I think I often have. I am so out-of-touch regarding my status with my mission and my failings in its pursuit that I cannot tell if I am humble or stupid. And that is a real problem when you are supposedly “leading” a bible study. Today I was definitely stupid. So gotta move forward into the wind and let Jesus take over. Es verdad??

    P.S. Wish you could just come and straighten me out. You are gifted in that way regardless of your previously mentioned limitations.

Leave a Reply

