That Yucky Feeling

sad-face

Can’t shake that yucky feeling? Or that disappointment, or rejection or a mistake you made that won’t let you go? Or perhaps there’s a nagging “thorn in your flesh” that’s there to stay. Where is that abiding joy and peace that seems to have slipped through your grasp?

For six years I’ve been writing this blog. And very seldom have I been at a loss for words. And yet, if you follow me, you know I haven’t posted in over two months. Oh, I’ve tried; believe me I’ve tried. Time and again, I would begin to write and get nowhere. Recently, I took what I’d written to my chief editor and counsel, my husband. He often gives me advice, but has never before suggested I not post something. This time he informed me ever so gently that what I’d written was a downer.

It’s good, perhaps for another time, but it’s Christmas!”

The thing I love doing most is gleaning encouragement from God’s Word and passing it on to others. (Is. 50:4) And yet, for the past year, I’ve been fighting a battle against discouragement, and I often feel as if I’m losing.

Life this side of heaven is a war of sorts, isn’t it? It may be a cold war at times. But then sometimes we find ourselves in the heat of a ferocious spiritual battle. In physical war, victory can only come when we’re able to identify the enemy and then prepare ourselves with the weaponry we need, plus a winning strategy.

The same is true in spiritual warfare. First, we must realize the war against the enemy of our souls has already been won on the cross. Yet, we still struggle from the influence of our spiritual adversary.

Our greatest battle may be against ourselves. Sometimes our natural instinct is to forget or ignore our General’s battle plan. As a result, we find it difficult to claim His promises of victory in the heat of the conflict.

gods-armor

The only way we can triumph over our misguided instincts is to to put on the armor of faith God has provided for us. This way, we’ll be able to move forward against our enemy, rather than retreat in defeat and discouragement. As a result, we’ll be able to trust God, regardless of our circumstances. (Ephesians 6:10-18)

How can we accept God’s plan and promises when we don’t understand the whys and wherefores? We trust Him to lead the charge because we know His thoughts and ways are higher than our own.

‘My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,’says the Lord. ‘And my ways are far above anything you could imagine. For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts. The rain and snow come down from the heavens and stay on the ground to water the earth. They cause the grain to grow, producing seed for the farmer and bread for the hungry. It is the same with my word. I send it out. And it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it. You will live in joy and peace. The mountains and hills will burst into song, and the trees of the field will clap their hands! Where once there were thorns, cypress trees will grow. Where nettles grew, myrtles will sprout up. These events will bring honor to the Lord’s name; they will be an everlasting sign of his power and love.’” Isaiah 55:8-13 (NLT)

When we allow His Word to inspire our thinking, we’ll discover we’re winning the battle for our minds. Fighting a losing battle against ourselves is kind of like shadowboxing. We make the motions of attacking and defending a shadow of our unwanted selves. Instead of allowing us to fight an apparition, God will fortify us with His Word. Thus preparing us to defeat our yucky feelings and any other inner conflicts.

As a result of trusting God‘s plan, He promises true joy, lasting peace and glorious victory in honor of His name. Here’s the greatest privilege of all. The events God brings about on our behalf will be an everlasting witness of His power and love.

To the victor go the rewards!

rejoice

*Next week, I’ll share with you how God is giving me victory over my mental block and emotional state. And how He is replacing my yucky feelings with expectation and hope!

Meanwhile, I’d love to hear from you concerning how God has used His Word to bless you during difficult times.

Comments
2 Responses to “That Yucky Feeling”
  1. milldub says:

    Mom!! It was so good to see your post pop back up again! As always, your transparency and honesty and wisdom are so refreshing!
    It makes sense to me that the Enemy would hit you where it hurts — YOU are an Encourager/Exhorter — of course he’d attempt discouragement! If he gets YOU down, well then it causes a ripple effect to so many who are lifted and supported and spurred on by your words!! So pick up the helmet, sword, breastplate, belt and shoes and fight!!!!! We need you to be who God made YOU!!! I love you!

Leave a Reply

