A Sincere Shout-Out to Discouraged Trump Supporters

two-women-arguing

I suppose there is something to be said about the possible ramifications of discussing or displaying one’s political convictions publicly or with friends. Recently, I discovered this the hard way.

Some of our closest friends in this area are our pickleball friends. We have lots of fun and share many good times together.

One afternoon, after playing we walked together to our cars. One of the gals saw the Trump sticker on our car. And oh my! She blasted me with disgust and disbelief that we would even consider supporting him. As she drove away, she lowered the window and said, “I have two words to say: Unfit and dangerous.”

I was devastated. Would this be the end our friendship? And would I no longer be able to pursue the spiritual inroads I’d made with her? Although we’re once again on a friendly basis, I can’t help but wonder if there is still an insurmountable wall between us. The issue in my mind looms big. Was it worth it?  

I don’t know the answer to that question. And now I’ve added to my confusion. Recently, as I began my morning walk, I cringed as I glanced at the Trump sign in our yard. What have we done? Should we be embarrassed? What will this do to our Christian witness?

As you know, there are Godly people on both sides of the question as to whether or not to vote for Donald Trump. So you might ask why I am a Trump supporter. I’ve prayed long and hard for wisdom and I believe I have my answer.

You and I are aware there are powerful forces who want to eliminate any semblance of moral values or religious freedom in our society. As a result, I’m convinced our culture has declined to the point that a strong Christian candidate with biblical values could not win this election.

Ronald Reagan once said, “Freedom is never more than a generation away from extinction.”

god-bless-america-prayer

Dear reader, the stakes are too high for us to sit this one out. We cannot bide our time until another election rolls around. We have come to a crucial crossroads. And if we continue on the path of a godless nation, we may very well be headed for the complete dismantling of our “one nation under God” status. If this happens, our Constitution will become nothing more than an out-dated and irrelevant document.

This may shock you as much as it did my friend, but I believe Donald Trump is God’s choice for the job. No, I don’t condone his past or approve of his choice of words. But I am not his judge!

Seriously, do we not believe God can raise up anyone He wants to do His work? According to an article by Jerome R. Corsi from WND news, “A movement is sweeping quietly across evangelical Christian America, sparked by a minister asking a simple question: ‘Would you have voted for Cyrus, the Great?’”

The minister is Derek W. Thomas, pastor of First Presbyterian Church in Columbia, South Carolina. His sermon, I Am the Only God There Is reminds us that

Cyrus the Great, a brutal dictator was raised up by God to serve God’s purpose in returning the Jews, God’s chosen people, to the land of Israel.”

Although he never mentions Trump in his sermon, the minister asks How can God use a pagan king like Cyrus the Great to advance his glory?”

And then, he offers a suggestion. “Let me suggest that God as sovereign may employ whomever he wishes to advance his kingdom and his purpose.”

God’s Word confirms this by assuring us that “The king’s heart is in the hand of the Lord; he directs it like a watercourse wherever he pleases.” Proverbs 21:2

Yes, we have reason to be discouraged. But let’s not lose hope. There is a biblical solution concerning the fate of our beloved country. According to II Chronicles 7:1315, God promised to heal the land of His people if they would do three things.

  1. Humble themselves

  2. repent of their sins

  3. and PRAY

At times I might shut up the heavens so that no rain falls, or command grasshoppers to devour your crops or send plagues among you. Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land. My eyes will be open and my ears attentive to every prayer made in this place.” NLT (italics for emphasis)

I may be wrong about a victory for Donald Trump. I realize the odds are great against that happening. But if I am wrong, I err on the side of believing God hasn’t given up on America. I also believe He is greater than our pettiness and divisions. Most important, there is evidence that Christians across America are repenting and praying for our land like never before.

So, my friend, let’s not give in to discouragement. Instead, let’s cling to God’s promise in 2 Chronicles 20:15. “Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s.”

In other words, as long as we’re on God’s side, we can trust His will in His way and in His timing. Regardless of the results of the election, our God reigns!

our-god-reigns

Let’s talk. In times of confusion or fear, how has God encouraged your faith in the past?

woman on computer 2

Comments
3 Responses to “A Sincere Shout-Out to Discouraged Trump Supporters”
  1. Charles J. Donohoe Jr. says:

    Liz, I loved this post. It speaks the sentiments of my heart. I know just how you feel as I had a falling out situation with my sister yesterday. I feel sick about it. Won’t we be surprised when we get to heaven and find out that none of us got it all right! Love and best wishes. Jackie D.

  2. Nora says:

    Liz,
    You are the BEST! I noticed that there were literally NO presidential signs up anywhere in the San Antonio area which was just plain weird. We decided to follow suit so now I am ashamed that I did not stand my ground openly. ….OK, now that I feel better via confession I really do have to shout my joy. I decided that I was voting for Trump (I was a sad Ted Cruz/ Carson gal) completely based on his supreme court promise. No amount of October surprise could remove that priority and it seemed so cut and dry that I was amazed that there was any discussion. And so far SO good. I am so happy with his first nomination. I read the same comparison to Cyrus and it made sense to me. Thank you for setting such a powerful example for me friend.

Leave a Reply

