The Cure for Laziness, Lethargy and Lackadaisical Living

woman-walking

Miracle of miracles, I now actually enjoy my almost daily two-mile walk. Why so, you may ask. Especially if you tend to be lazy and comfort driven. Like me.

In my experience, the solution to hating exercise is to focus on something you love. Perhaps it’s the hope for results that motivates you. Or it could be as simple as mind over matter. Something that elevates your thinking above the aches and pains to a higher purpose.

For example, I listen to Christian radio on my I-pod while walking. My mind is stretched with the teaching of Ravi Zacharias. I’m challenged by Erwin Lutzer to deal with sin and apply biblical truth to my spiritual walk. But then, sometimes discouragement and false guilt threaten to trip me up. That’s when Steve Brown’s deep resonating voice encourages me to run freely and with joy the race God has set before me.

This is all good stuff but alas, this morning the earpiece was missing on my I-pod. Horrors! I almost decided not to walk. How could I make it two miles without my walking partners?

At that point, a voice in the recesses of my spirit said to me. Why don’t you use this time of silence to pray, dummy?”

That must have been my own inner voice speaking. God wouldn’t call me dummy. Or would He? Either way, He got my attention.

And that’s what I did. For forty minutes I walked, talking to God, out loud. I wondered what my neighbors thought, but oh well. I prayed about my own weaknesses and desires, as well as the needs of my family and friends. And for some reason, after every petition, I added Lord, You are the only One who can do this. At one point, the realization of that truth brought me to tears as I relinquished people and desires to Him.

I don’t know about you. But at times, I suffer from the malady of laziness, lethargy, and lackadaisical living. Both physically and spiritually. I hate this cancer that threatens my joy and peace, as well as my productivity. But praise God, there is a cure!

cure-ahead

II Corinthians 5:17 promises when one becomes a Christian and belongs to Christ, he or she becomes a new person; the old life is gone! In other words, God has exchanged our old nature with a new nature.

The sacrifice of Christ has paid for our sins. The love of Christ has forgiven our sins. And now, God’s Spirit within us gives us the power not to sin! Before Christ, we had no idea how to recognize and deal with sin. But now we have a choice; we can choose to not sin.

We all know physical exercise and a healthy diet are good for us. But are we as cognizant to our need for spiritual health? If so, what can we do about it? We can choose to walk with Christ in victory over our debilitating sins.

In order to do this, we must feed the new nature within us. And we must starve the old one that threatens to invade our walk with God. My old nature has a way of convincing me that I want to be lazy (or impatient or fearful or prideful) . . . and that I can’t be any different.

I’ve learned from years of experience I can’t be the person I want to be on my own. My only hope is to acknowledge my need for the Holy Spirit to be my spiritual guide, trainer and dietitian. I’m convinced if I give Him the opportunity, He will gladly feed and exercise my new nature.

So, my friend, will you join me in deciding to embrace and nurture our new nature? I’m tired of trying to beat the “dead horse” into submission. Aren’t you? I’m convinced our old nature has no hold on us as long as we’ve given God the reigns.

You may not need a cure for laziness, lethargy and lackadaisical living. Perhaps you have other struggles that that have kept you stuck in your old ways.

The first step toward a new nature is to meet God at the foot of the cross. There you can lay your burdens and your sins down in exchange for a new life in Christ. Cleansed, forgiven and empowered by the Holy Spirit within you who will never leave or forsake you. That’s a promise! (Hebrews 13:5)

Consider the wisdom of Oswald Chambers when he said, “The New Testament teaching about regeneration is that when a person is hit by his own sense of need, God will put the Holy Spirit into his spirit, and his personal spirit will be energized by the Spirit of the Son of God–‘until Christ is fully developed in your lives.’” (Galatians 4:19 NLT)

pursuing-god

Let’s talk: Suppose you could go to God”s grocery store and pick whatever you need to feed your faith? What kind of things would you put in your basket?

Comments
One Response to “The Cure for Laziness, Lethargy and Lackadaisical Living”
  1. Susan Masters says:

    Liz, I really loved this❣️it spoke to me right where I live❣️Your encouragement is contagious ❣️ Thanks, as always, for sharing your vulnerability & your love for Christ with your “sisters”❣️ Love your dear friend ❣️

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

