Chicken with Feta, Tomatoes and Olives Sauce

Hi, Folks. I’m always looking for good chicken recipes. Since we often play pickle-ball in the early evenings, I sometimes cook our main meal at lunch. Today, I had one good size chicken breast and no idea what to do with it. So with the help of a Weight Watchers recipe for Braised Chicken with Feta and Olives. I used what I had on hand and came up with the following recipe. My husband thought it was delicious and so did I! I cooked cabbage and green beans to go with the dish. Oh, and since my husband doesn’t like cabbage, I boiled a potato for him. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

Chicken with Feta, Tomatoes and Olives Sauce (Serves 2)    

 Chicken, Feta and Olives

  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 large chicken breast cut in half
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • black pepper
  • ½ small onion, sliced
  • ½ cup water
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 8 green olives, chopped (WW uses pitted Kalamata olives)
  • 2 tblsp. chopped fresh basil
  • 2 tbsp. Feta cheese
  1. Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat
  2. Salt and pepper chicken breast and add to skillet. Cook, on both sides ’til browned. About 8 minutes. Remove chicken to plates.
  3. Add onion to skillet and saute for 3 minutes. Stir in water, tomatoes and olives and bring to a boil. Return chicken to skillet.
  4. Reduce heat and simmer covered about 5 minutes. Remove skillet from heat and stir in basil.
  5. Divide chicken on two plates and sprinkle feta cheese on top.
Leave a Reply

