The Message I Wish My Homosexual Brother Could Have Heard

sister and brother

I loved my brother, Tom. He was fun to be with, had a great sense of humor and was thoughtful and kind. We were both well into adulthood when I discovered Tom was a homosexual. I had suspected it for awhile but wasn’t sure so I decided to ask him if it was true.

Like Tom, I had grown up going to church. I had a heart for God but I can’t say I had a vital, personal relationship with Christ. Therefore my spiritual life was an up and down experience of wanting to live for God but having no power to do so.

And then eight years into my marriage, through a women’s Bible study, I learned what it meant to fully embrace what Jesus did on the cross for me. As a result, I received Christ as my Savior and the Lord of my life, asking Him to make me the person He wanted me to be.

That day, I also learned what it means to be filled and empowered with the Holy Spirit on a moment-by-moment basis. As a result, God immediately began to change my priorities, my outlook on life and my love for other people. I discovered a love for my husband and children I didn’t have before. A love from God that said I love you not for who you are, what you can do for me or how you behave. I love you because God loves you and because I want you to experience His love and forgiveness in your own life.

Due to God’s work in my heart, I was learning to love others unconditionally. Especially my brother, Tom. So my question concerning his sexuality came from a heart of love. I think he knew that. For he began to cry and told me that he had just begun to accept himself for what he was.

At that point, I didn’t judge or berate him but I did share the beauty of the gospel with him. That God loves us where we are but we all have a sin problem that separates us from Him. And because God loves everyone, He sent His Son to die on the cross to pay for our sins, whatever they are. (John 3:16)

That night, we talked further but Tom wasn’t ready to give his heart to Jesus. Over the years, he and I continued to have a good relationship. And then, one day I received word that my brother was sick and dying. We traveled from New York back to Atlanta hoping to see him before he died. Unfortunately, we didn’t make it in time. I don’t know whether Tom received Christ before he died. I do know he understood the gospel and I hope with all my heart I’ll see him in heaven.

Why am I telling you all of this? Because I just listened to a talk that rocked my thought process concerning the subject of homosexuality. I was overwhelmed with new insights on how God wants to work in the body of Christ to share not only His truth but His grace and love, as well.

How do you suppose Jesus would preach to the LGBT community? It might surprise you to discover how Pastor J.D. Greear from Raleigh, NC answers that question. This is why I plead with you to watch the following video. Whatever your opinion on the subject, you will be enlightened, encouraged and perhaps motivated to love others, regardless of their life circumstances. Please don’t let this opportunity slip away. It will be well worth the time it takes away from your busy life. I plan to listen to it again and take notes. It’s that good! And it’s why this is a message I wish my homosexual brother could have heard.

A Message by Pastor J.D. Greear “Preaching Like Jesus to the LGBT Community”

Preaching Like Jesus to the LGBT Community,”

Comments
4 Responses to “The Message I Wish My Homosexual Brother Could Have Heard”
  1. shirlee says:

    THANK YOU LIZ FOR THE MESSAGE BY JD GREEAR. MANY HELPFUL POINTS. MISS YOU AND JAY. LOVE, SHIRLEE

  2. Sandy says:

    Thank you for dealing with this topic. I appreciated that sermon. I struggle with this since my daughter is now married to her girlfriend. This has been a hard journey as a parent but I am learning so much. Thank you Liz 😍

    • Thanks, Sandy for your comment and your vulnerability. Hopefully, as we focus on God’s love, His grace and His truth, we can help one another navigate this crazy life together

Leave a Reply

