Memory Lane 7-Up Cake

memory lane 2

The other day, I found a recipe card that belonged to Mary Jo Little, my mother. Her handwriting quickly took me down memory lane. Everyone who knew her would agree my mother was a wonderful person, as well as a fabulous cook.

This brings a specific memory to mind. When I was a young girl, our family employed a maid named Dorothy. My siblings and I loved her and almost thought of her as one of us. One day, Dorothy was helping with a dinner party and she turned to Mother and said, “Law, Mrs. Little. If I was as good a cook as you, I’d be as fat as you are.”

This coming from a tiny woman herself, was a huge compliment. And my mother was gracious enough to take it that way.

Here’s Mary Jo’s recipe for 7-Up Cake:

Memory Lane 7-Up Cake       7-up cake

  • 1 box lemon Duncan Hines Cake Mix
  • 1 instant pineapple pudding
  • ¾ cup cooking oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1-10 oz. 7-Up

Mix all ingredients, adding 7-up last. Bake 2 layers at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, or until done.

Frosting:

  • 1 stick margarine or butter
  • 1 large can crushed pineapple
  • 1¾ cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla
  • cup chopped nuts (optional)
  • 1 cup coconut

Mix well. Cook slowly on low until thick, stirring constantly-burns easily. Last, add nuts and coconut.  Spread between layers and on top and sides of the cake.

woman cooking

Leave a Reply

