A Day in the Life of a Frustrated Wanna-be Writer

(After you read this, you are going to realize the miracle of my ever getting anything constructive done.)

indescisive woman

The other day, I decided I would give a certain amount of time every day to focus on my study and writing time. Here’s a rundown of my first day of deciding to become more focused and purposeful.

*****

October 26, 2015

3:30 AM – Woke up hot, threw off the blanket, then tossed and turned until . . .

5:30 AM – Got up and decided to work on Bible study since I was two lessons behind.

7:30 AM – Super tired and had a headache, so decided to go back to bed.

8:00 AM – Got up and decided to empty the dish washer, when my husband asked me if we were going to walk. Decided to join him for 0ur 2-mile walk.

9:00 AM – Decided to empty the dish washer, and then linger over breakfast.

9:30 AM – Began looking at sofas on my phone. Found one and decided to discuss it with my husband who proceeded to read a review saying it was crappy.

10:00 – Went to my desk, decided to take a break before I got started with writing. So decided to play just one game each on the computer of Hearts, Free Cell and Spider Solitaire.

10:45 – Decided to leave my desk so Jay could run the vacuum in the study. Went to the living room and decided to peruse the shelves for a book to consider for my idea for a book club, featuring Christian books with a biblical discussion.

11:00 – Returned to my desk and decided to write a post and call it Mood Swings: The Two Faces of Me.

11:10 – Decided to Google Bipolar and while reading about that, up popped an ad displaying sofas for sale. Scary, right? Tempted by the distraction, I almost resumed my search for a couch. But then, bracing myself, I decided to click away the ad.

11:30 – Worked awhile but then couldn’t decide whether or not to can my thoughts for a post and come up with another idea.

harried woman

12:00 – Just couldn’t focus. Oh well, it was time for lunch anyway. Decided to finish this later. Or maybe not.

*****

12:30— Ate lunch while watching the news which lasted longer than the lunch.

2:00 – Could hardly hold my eyes open so decided to take a power nap.

3:00 – Back to my desk for awhile, but then Jay and I decided we’d play pickleball at 4:00.

4:00 – Joined group for exercise and lots of fun.

6:30 – Cooked dinner, ate and cleaned the kitchen. Piddled for awhile, doing I don’t know what.

8:00 – Decided to watch one of our favorite TV shows, The Voice.

10:00 – Too tired to do anything else, so decided to go to bed.

Oh well, tomorrow’s another day in the life of this frustrated wanna-be writer. By the way, who says I’m not decisive? I made a lot of decisions today, didn’t I?

Oh, just in case you’ve decided I must be ADD, I asked my doctor about that and suggested I might need some medicinal help. He looked at me as if he were peering into my soul. Sheepishly, I answered before he could. “Perhaps it’s my lack of discipline, ya think?” He smiled and with a nod, dismissed the whole thing.

So, there you have it. There’s no pill for chronic indecisiveness, lack of motivation and laziness. Believe me, if there was, I’d take it!!

And yet, one thing I know. I decided to follow Jesus a long time ago. As a result, He’s helped me navigate a blessed life, in spite of my chronic weaknesses. Maybe there’s still hope for me as a writer.

Proverbs 17:22 says, “A cheerful heart is good medicine but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength.” (NLT)

Today, I pray for God to give you a cheerful heart. And if you happen to be nursing a broken spirit, I pray you will call upon Him to mend it and restore your strength.

Toward that end, I hope this run-down of a day in my crazy life has brought a smile to your face, as well as a prayer in your heart that you and I will make decisions daily, moment by moment that will honor the Lord and allow Him to show us how His power works BEST in our weaknesses. (II Cor. 12:9)

This says to me the potential of His power is greater in and through our weaknesses than our strengths.

Now, that’s an encouraging thought, isn’t it?

We can do it.

Please, if you have any constructive advice for me, feel free to share.

God willing, I may even decide to take it.              

    woman on computer

Comments
8 Responses to “A Day in the Life of a Frustrated Wanna-be Writer”
  1. Christen says:

    Literally laughed out loud the whole way through this post! You’re a girl after my own heart!
    Christen

    • Thanks sweet friend! I felt it was time to do something light and humorous. I hope all is well with you and your family. Wish we could have a lunch together to catch up. Except it might take a breakfast and a lunch! 🙂 Love you.

  2. Lisa Tyler says:

    LOL! Thanks mama for this fun post peering into your constructive day!! I love you!

    • You’re welcome. I’m always glad to share my weaknesses. Hopefully, it helps some people cope with their own. And it was fun to make it humorous and light. I love you, too and I’m so proud of the Godly woman, wife and mother you’ve become. I know this has been an extremely difficult couple of years but you have dealt with the challenges with maturity and wisdom. And the things that matter most have stayed intact. God is good!

  3. Lollie Beck says:

    maybe you should have told your doctor that at least one of your daughters is ADD, and at least one of your grand-daughters! It is hereditary! Your day sounds so like me! However, sounds like you did some fun and productive things! Love you! Hey, do you still have the story you wrote about my guardian angels? Would love for you to send it to me!

    • Thanks for checking in. Yes, I can certainly identify with you but I’m so proud of you for doing what you have to in order to be a good teacher. I know you are creative in making school interesting and fun for your students. And I know they love you. So you’ve risen above your challenges and as a result, you’ve blessed a lot of people, most of all your family. Love you, sweet daughter.

  4. Amy Gantt says:

    Loved this Elizabeth. It sounds like a day in the life of Amy! Keep up the writing, the naps, the recipes and your love and passions for the Lord. Your transparency to share real life helps those who think Christians have it all together. God bless.

  5. Millie says:

    LOL, Mom!!!! This was great and just helps all of us feel more normal that no one has the answers to productivity….or if they do — they’re probably not fun to be around! 🙂 LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

