The Cultural Quagmire

rescuing from mud

We live in a crazy world, don’t we? Where right is perceived as wrong and wrong as right. A place where lies are believed and truth is either ignored or twisted. I call it a cultural quagmire with no moral absolutes.

It’s easy for people to get stuck in a dangerous place where the more they try to climb out on their own, the deeper they become mired in the mud.

Recently, I woke up in the middle of my own quagmire. It all started with a dream, a very disturbing dream. I was a young college girl involved emotionally in a situation that was hard to escape because there was no easy solution.

In the process of my dream, I became involved in an intimate relationship with my roommate. I detected a warning in my spirit but my emotions were stronger than my convictions. As a result, I allowed my feelings for her to cross over into physical affection.

Fortunately, at that point I woke up. But the emotion lingered precariously. In my post-dream fogginess, my thoughts and feelings were still those of the girl in my dream.

As you can imagine, this was a jarring experience for me. But it was also profound. Why? Because for a moment, God had allowed me to internalize this girl’s feelings as if it were happening to me.

After the fog lifted, I found myself at the foot of the cross. From there, I was reminded of the verse that says, “God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” II Corinthians 5:21

We live in a scary world, don’t we? A world bogged down in wars, conflicts and moral confusion. But they are nothing compared to the war waged by our spiritual enemy that has all but eliminated any societal moral compass.

moral compass

There is a reason the line between right and wrong has grown blurred and in some cases, non-existent. The spirit of immorality has woven its web into the fiber of mankind. As a result, God’s creation has become a cultural quagmire. God forbid that we believers should be found picking daisies in the middle of a war zone.

Do you ever wonder why God’s people have made so little impact in winning the war of good and evil? It certainly isn’t because we don’t want to make a difference or that we haven’t tried.

We can pound the pulpit, protest the decline and denounce immorality on every proverbial street corner. But it’s like clanging a cymbal in dead ears.

The truth is we aren’t speaking a language the rest of the world can understand. Consequently, our warnings will never rescue them from darkness. As pure as our motives may be, we will never be able to talk them into changing their minds, their beliefs or their lifestyles.

There is only one message that can pierce the darkness and change lives. In order for people to understand Him, God has specifically tuned the message of the cross to the wave length of the non-believer’s mind and heart. It’s a transforming message offering God’s unconditional, sacrificial and cleansing love to all who’re willing to listen and learn.

I have no idea who is reading this. But if you’ve never been to the foot of cross, I invite you to join me there. For something wonderful happens when we come to the cross, confess our sins and accept God’s gift of salvation. When we receive Christ, God sends His Holy Spirit to live His life in and through us. It is the Holy Spirit who seals and solidifies our personal relationship with Christ.

Without the Holy Spirit, it’s impossible for us to understand spiritual truth. It is the Holy Spirit within us who forms our desires to live according to God’s standards vs the world’s. It is the Holy Spirit who guides and motivates us to make life choices that honor God. And it is the Holy Spirit who gives us the will and the power to avoid the quagmires of a culture out of control. As Christians, the Holy Spirit is our greatest asset for He is the One who imparts the life of Christ in and through us. The body of Christ will have no lasting influence until we understand how to be filled and empowered by God’s abiding Spirit within us individually and collectively. Only then will we be able to make an eternal difference in the lives of others.

But first, we must take the step of faith to receive the spirit of the One who died for us. And if we’re willing to do this, a simple prayer from the heart can lift us out of the miry clay and set us firmly on the Rock, giving us the foundation upon which to build the life we’ve always wanted. It’s like coming home to the heart of God where we all belong.

If you personally would like to receive Christ the living Messiah and Savior, the words are not as important as the attitude of your heart.However, if you choose to do so,  you can pray something like this:

“Lord Jesus, I need you. I confess I’ve sinned against you by going my own way and doing my own thing. I thank you for dying for my sins. And I ask you to send your Spirit to come and dwell in my heart to make me the person you want me to be, to help me to be a part of the solution and not the problem in this messed up world. In Your Name, I pray. Amen”

If you prayed this prayer or one like it, I invite you to celebrate with the words of King David from Psalm 40:1-3.

I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the Lord.”

love lifted me

If you have previously given your life to Christ, I have a question for you. Have you ever felt like you were stuck in the mud of helplessness, confusion or despair? If so, how did God help you climb out of it?  

woman on computer

Comments
2 Responses to “The Cultural Quagmire”
  1. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    Let no one say that God does not speak to his people today, He certainly does. Thank you for listening, hearing, and then acting in obedience to share what you heard and learned. It is a quagmire for sure and as believers I believe we are called to pray, love, and share the truth. The Lord will take care of the rest. We all have sinned and we all must go to the foot of the cross. It may look like we are loosing the battle but we know the end of the story, God is victorious, I guess the question is what is our part and how will the Lord use us? Thank you for sharing your thoughts and heart and Keep on listening! love you.

    • Beautifully said, sweet daughter! Thanks for your input and your encouragement. Obedience sometimes, actually always requires faith. Why do we ever hesitate when we know the results of obedience are always rewarding. I love and appreciate you so very much! Mom

Leave a Reply

