Old-Fashioned Chess Pie

woman cooking

Unless you’re a whole lot younger than I am, I know you remember eating Chess Pie. Yummy and easy to make. Our pastor’s wife, Jane gave it to me back in the 70’s. The recipe has been buried in my recipe archives. That’s a fancy word f0r misplaced and messy files. I may have forgotten the recipe but I haven’t forgotten the taste. So here it is. Let me know if you like it.

Old-Fashioned Chess Pie  chess pie

Pet-Ritz pie shell (Prick and pre-bake just to dry out.)

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla
  • 1 tsp vinegar
  • 1 tblsp. Corn meal

Stir and beat ingredients with a whisk. Pour into shell. Put strips of foil around the edge. Bake at 350 degrees until won’t shake. (about 20 or 30 minutes)

I just found an even older recipe for Chess Pie. It’s obviously larger and perhaps better!

Chess pie 1

Leave a Reply

