When the Well Runs Dry

dripping faucet

What do you do when your mouth is so dry, you can hardly swallow? You pour yourself a big glass of the only thing that will quench your thirst. Water! But what if you were in a desert where there is a well, but it has run dry. You’re literally parched and you’d give anything for a glass of water.

Do you sometimes feels as if your spiritual well has run dry? Your spiritual well is the hole in your heart yearning to be filled. It’s the place in your dreams where God stimulates your thirst to be all He wants you to be. It’s the hand of your soul stretched out to receive His gift of an abundant life, regardless of your circumstances. It’s the core of courage you need to defy the odds created by limitations, age or fear. It’s the tender place in your heart where He nurtures your gifts of service. It’s the backbone of your faith where He forms your desire to pursue His will over and above your own.

After five years of blogging, I’ve wondered if my well of worthwhile words is running dry. You may have noticed how sporadic I’ve been in posting over the past year. Even though I love doing it, I’ll admit it’s a struggle to get back into the weekly routine.

As a result, I sometimes ponder the idea of what retirement should look like for me. After all, I’ve spent a lot of years in ministry. Isn’t it time to relax and take each day as it comes and enjoy it for what it has to offer? No more wracking my brain and heart for what God wants me to write. Or where He wants me to use the gifts He’s given me to make a difference in my world.

Besides, is it really so bad to be relegated to the “pasture” in this life? After all, the grass is green there, so why not enjoy it? Those of you who know me well may in essence be thinking, Yes, but is that really what you want? Would you be content grazing in a pasture, fenced in with self-induced limitations?

And my answer would be emphatically “No.” And that’s because years ago, I decided to adopt a mission statement that would clearly define what I believe to be my God-given purpose for living. I also chose a life verse to test and renew my focus when I get off track.

Since I gave my life to Christ, my greatest desire has been to share with others what it means to know and experience the assurance of eternal life, as well as how to to enjoy the abundant life God offers us this side of heaven.

Therefore, my mission in life became eight simple words. *to know Him and to make Him known.

Along the way, *Isaiah 50:4 has become the hook upon which I can hang my hope when I’m discouraged or lose sight of my mission.

The Sovereign Lord has given me his words of wisdom, so that I know how to comfort the weary. Morning by morning he wakens me and opens my understanding to His will.” (updated to the NLT version of the Bible)

As I remind myself of these gems, my heart tells me my God-given goal in life hasn’t changed one bit. There may come a time when I’m confined to a bed without the ability to reach out beyond my designated “pasture.”

sheep escaping pasture

But truthfully, I don’t want to fence myself in before that time comes. So, I’m committed to keep on pursuing my knowledge of Him. And then to continue to make Him known however and wherever He gives me the ways and means to do so.

After asking God to re-confirm His direction for me, I turned to Jesus Calling for that day. It said “Wait quietly in my Presence while My thoughts form silently in the depths of your being. . . I am speaking to you continually words of Life . . . Peace . . . Love. Tune your heart to receive these messages of abundant blessing. Lay your request before Me, and wait in expectation.”

Our heavenly father invites us to live expectant lives, anticipating lives of peace and love as we pursue His will. And by the way, your well of resources will never run dry. And neither will mine.

Isaiah 58:11 tells us “The Lord will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.”

In John 4:14, Jesus speaks of how we can tap this living water. “. . . whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

God’s living water is eternal and flows into and through our lives. He may change the direction of the water, and it may flow less freely at times than we think we need. But it’s always available and always satisfying.

well bucket

When is the last time you felt as if your well had run dry? And how were you able to refill your spiritual tank so you could once again enjoy God’s living water?

woman on computer

Comments
2 Responses to “When the Well Runs Dry”
  1. vondaskelton says:

    You know, it seems like every time I think my well has run dry, God sends something or someone to infuse a whopping dose of excitement, passion, or insight to spur me on! I pray that’s what you’ll find as well!

Leave a Reply

