Need a Jump Start? Try These Booster Cables

booster cables

Greetings everyone and welcome back to Devos and Dumplings. I’ve missed connecting with you. And I’m not quite sure why I’ve had such a hard time getting this blog back on track.

I think my battery needs re-charging. No, not my car battery. I mean the battery that keeps my mind, body and spirit running smoothly and efficiently.

After a mentally lazy and emotionally stressful summer, I desperately need a jump start. However, I confess I have a bent for laziness. And when it sets in, I really don’t want to do anything that stretches me beyond what’s easy and comfortable.

Laziness is like a drug. Not only is it habit-forming and time-consuming; it zaps one’s energy and ability to focus. The sad thing about laziness is that it robs us of the rewards of using our God-given gifts to accomplish more than we can begin to do on our own.

And I know better! When I allow God to guide what I put in my mind, as well as my output of physical and mental energy, everything is different. I become a happier, healthier and a more productive person. But sometimes, I need a jolt to recharge my “want to” battery.

You may not identify with my dilemma at all. If not, consider yourself blessed. However, if you need a jump start in any area of your life, I invite you to explore with me how we can re-charge and maintain our God-given resources.

As with any complicated machine, it helps to read and understand the manual. God’s Word is filled with “booster cables” that transmit warnings, instructions and promises to motivate and equip us to stay charged and ready for whatever He wants to do in and through our lives. Here are just a few.

studying Bible

1. Maintain your battery. A neglected battery will lose its energy and become sluggish.

*God’s Warning: Don’t “be lazy and become a slave.” Proverbs 12:24b NLT

(Are you in bondage to anything that threatens your freedom to be all God wants you to be?)

*God’s Instruction: We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised.” Hebrews 6:12 NIV

*God’s Promise: Lazy people want much but get little, but those who work hard will prosper.” Proverbs 13:4 NLT

2. Use your battery wisely. Wasted time and energy can not be retrieved.

*God’s Warning: “Be very careful, then, how you live, not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore, do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.” Ephesians 5:15-17 NIV

Do you sometimes struggle with understanding God’s will?

*God’s Instruction: “Trust in the Lord with all you heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.” Proverbs 3:5-6 NLT

God’s Promise: “For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” Ephesians 2:10 NLT

3. Recharge your battery, as needed.

*God’s Warning: “And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow him.” Colossians 2:6

Did you receive Christ by faith? How then, does God expect you to live your life?

*God’s Instruction: “Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.” Colossians 2:7 NLT

*God’s Promise: “Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and that the Master you are serving is Christ.” Colossians 3:23-24 NLT

So, my friend, are you charged and ready to get going in whatever agenda God has for you in the coming months/years?

No, it won’t be easy. Nothing worthwhile ever is. Pope Paul VI reminds us that “All life demands struggle. Those who have everything given to them become lazy, selfish, and insensitive to the real values of life. The very striving and hard work that we so constantly try to avoid is the major building block in the person we are today.”

starting line 2

You and I each have a unique role to fill for God’s purpose. So let’s get started! As Plato wisely said, “The beginning is the most important part of the work.”

Have you sought God’s will for you in this place and time of your life? If there were no obstacles, what would you like to do in order to serve God and to make a difference in your world?

woman on computer

Comments
One Response to “Need a Jump Start? Try These Booster Cables”
  1. vondaskelton says:

    Great reminder for me, too! Sometimes I get so overwhelmed I just want to stop doing what I know I HAVE to do, NEED to do in order to be in His will. But the reminder that I’m working for the Lord eventually takes over and I get back to work. But you’re right–it’s not easy! Love you!

Leave a Reply

