Magnificently Obsessed

valentines

It’s Valentine’s Day and love is in the air. That is, for some people. It can be a very sad day for the lonely and seemingly unloved. It’s possible to be obsessed with the concept of romance and clueless about true love. Some may even ask, “How do you know when you’re in love?”

Those of us who’ve been there and done that might be quick to answer. If you don’t know, you aren’t. And yet, it’s a valid question for the person who is wise enough to examine the mountain before repelling off the cliff. Falling in love is easy. But staying in love takes work, a lot of work.

To wonder if one is in love may lead to more questions than answers. Is this feeling real? Will it last? Or is it merely an infatuation that will fade with the test of time? But what if I’m obsessed with this person? Is that a bad thing?

Webster defines obsession as “a persistent preoccupation.” In her book Jesus Calling, Sarah Young reminds us that whatever occupies our minds the most becomes our god. Perhaps this is what God was referring to when He prioritized the first of His Ten Commandments. “You shall have no other gods before me.” (Exodus 20:3 NIV)

Obviously, it isn’t healthy for a person to be completely absorbed with another human being. But is it okay to be obsessed with God? Absolutely! It’s not only a wise choice; it’s what I call the magnificent obsession.

divided heart

During my early years, I thought I had a heart for God. But my love for Him was erratic and based on my feelings or my need at the moment. As a result, I entertained many small gods, such as: friends, dating and playing basketball.

After eight years of marriage and three children, I began to question the validity of my relationship with God. I thought I loved Him but I knew He wasn’t first in my life. As a result, I was frustrated and dissatisfied with myself as a wife and mother.

Through a ladies Bible study, I received Christ as my Savior and asked Him to be the Lord of every area of my life. I didn’t understand it then, but at that moment He gave His all to me. I know this because of how the Holy Spirit changed my thought life. I began to think of Jesus and spiritual things pretty much all the time. And I wanted to absorb everything I could about knowing and loving God.

II Chronicles 16:9 says “the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.” In other words, thoughts of God come from God; That’s how He pursues us. Our part is to respond.

I confess at one point, my new thought life scared me a little. I wondered if I was losing my mind or becoming a weird fanatic. But the more I focused on God and what it meant to obey His Word, the more I grew in my love for Him.

I soon became magnificently obsessed with my Creator, my Father and yes, my forever Friend. Surprisingly, I also began to experience a new kind of God-centered love for other people, especially my husband and children. Believe me, there was nothing weird about that. In the Hebrew language, Psalm 122 is an acrostic love poem depicting a composite picture of the kinds of benefits available to those who truly love God. I hope you’ll be motivated to discover these benefits for yourself as you read and study His Word.

God's Blessings

Benefits from Psalm 112:

  • blessings of all kinds
  • joy in obedience
  • favor to children
  • blessings to others through children as persons of influence and reputation
  • prosperity
  • enduring virtue
  • light shines in darkness
  • good comes to the generous and just
  • overcomer of evil
  • leaves a legacy of honor to be remembered forever
  • no fear of bad news
  • confident trust in the Lord
  • steadfast and secure heart
  • destined for victory over the wicked

  Reminder

*We may not always recognize God’s blessings. For at times, they come through hardship and suffering.Yet, we can be assured He is faithful to disperse benefits uniquely designed for each person for our good and His glory. (Romans 8:28-29)

*If you’re a single woman who loves God, you hold a privileged place in His Heart, as His lover and He as your husband. (Isaiah 54:5) And the people you influence for Christ are your “children” who will be blessed because of your devotion to God. (Psalm 113:9)

*If you’re a single man with a heart for God, He promises to meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:19)

**In our love relationship with God, we tend to gravitate away from Him and toward little gods of all kinds. We can be fickle and unfaithful in so many ways. But God is always faithful and true to His role in the relationship. That is, to forgive, restore and rejuvenate.

***If you haven’t experienced this kind of relationship with God, please know He is drawing you toward Himself with cords of love. Suppose you were the only person who ever lived besides Jesus Christ. God would have allowed His Son to die on the cross just for you. That’s how much He loves you. And that, my friend, is the ultimate magnificent obsession.

Magnificent Obsession

If you were to send a valentine to God, what would you say?

Leave a Reply

