My Father-in-law’s Take on Time

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Chick was a kind, hard-working man who loved and served his family and his country well. I’m grateful for the qualities he instilled in my husband. Character, consideration and responsibility. He also had a wonderful sense of humor. His quips were funny and colorful.

Yesterday, I told Jay I was writing my post about time. He smiled and reminded me of his dad’s take on time. I’ll shade the color a bit but I think you’ll get the humor and the wisdom.

God waits for no man and darn few women. It’s true, isn’t it? God’s creation didn’t include a time machine to enable us to do repeats on our most precious commodity, time.

By the way, if God waits for a few women, I’m not one of them. For years, I’ve struggled with my use of time. When I think of what I could have accomplished if only I’d managed my time better, it makes me sad.

                   locusts

As gracious as God is, He hasn’t decided to hold back the years for me to get my act together. But He has made an encouraging promise to those of us who have allowed the “locust” to eat away our time.

“…I will make up to you the years that the locust has eaten…” (Joel 2:25, NASB)

The prophet Joel is calling the nation of Israel to repent and turn away from their sin. God doesn’t promise to give back the years the locusts have eaten. But He does promise to reverse the effects of the locusts.

In Redeeming the Locust-Eaten Years, an article written by CBN producer Hannah Goodwyn, she says, “When we allow God to work in our souls, we give Him the access He needs to clean out what the locust (the invading enemy of our souls – sin) destroyed and build up what the Spirit delivers. The Holy Spirit, in effect, redeems what was lost by working through our lives.”

Why should you and I care how we spend our time? Perhaps its because God cares. In fact, He cared enough to plant eternity in our hearts. (Ecc. 3:11)

eternity 2

Where we spend eternity is determined by our relationship with Him. (I John 5:11-13) Eternal life begins the moment we receive God’s gift of forgiveness provided by Jesus’ sacrificial death on the cross.

How we spend eternity depends upon what we decide to do with our time. Time truly is of the essence. What we do with it is measurable and important to God.

What are your hopes for 2015? Have you verbalized them, even to yourself? I’m not much for making resolutions. But I really would like to be purposeful concerning whatever time I have left on this earth.

Therefore, my prayer for 2015 is for God to help me make the most of my time, whatever that means. If this is also the desire of your heart, perhaps you’d like to pray with me and claim the significance of the following scriptures.

Psalm 90:12 “Father God, throughout 2015 and beyond, teach us to number our days according to your will, that we may gain hearts of wisdom.”

(Proverbs 19:21 & Psalm 31:14-15) “Lord you know there are many plans and desires in our hearts. But help us to remember it is your purpose that prevails. We know our times are in your hands. Therefore, whatever season we’re in, help us to use the time you give us wisely.”

And now I pray for you a healthy, happy and productive New Year!

2015

As you look ahead to this year, what are your desires and expectations? Or perhaps your fears? If you’d like to share them with me, I promise to pray for you.

woman on computer

(Note: For more thoughts on time and for a glimpse into my heart concerning my own desires and fears for the coming year, check out my next post, Crumbs for My Father-in-law’s Take on Time.)

Comments
4 Responses to “My Father-in-law’s Take on Time”
  1. Millie Welsh says:

    Great post, Mom! Just the encouragement I needed today, too! 🙂 Thanks for being obedient and writing — you must keep doing so! Love you and eager to walk through 2015 with you as we see what God does with our time!

  2. Jeannie says:

    What a great reminder for me. When time passes and you have done what you know to do, there will still be locusts. But God can Renew and Restore what they have torn down and God’s will is ALWAYS accomplished in my life and those I have loved!!

    • So true, my friend! I know it’s not an easy road for you but I pray you will continue to be the shining light of God’s grace. I love you and appreciate your heart for the Lord and for people.

Leave a Reply

