Crumbs for Please Pass the Manna, Part 6: 7 Characteristics of a Perfect Church

(If you missed the post preceding this one, look under Food for Thought in this blog  for 7 Characteristics of a Perfect Church, Part 6: Please Pass the Manna.)

grand piano

The body is like a piano, and happiness is like music. It is needful to have the instrument in good order.” Henry Ward Beecher (1813 – 1887) – a prominent, Congregationalist clergyman, social reformer, abolitionist, and speaker

healthy old women

7 Most Potent Anti-Aging Strategies by David A Kekich, Maximum Life Foundation

  1. Appropriate diet
  2. Exercise
  3. Sensible supplementation
  4. Lifestyle habits such as quitting smoking and maintaining a healthy weight
  5. Seeing an anti-aging physician
  6. Stress management
  7. Attitude/positive thoughts

reading Bible

Friend, the church finds its life as it listens to the Word of God. It finds its purpose as it lives out and displays the Word of God. The church’s job is to listen and then to echo.” Mark Dever, pastor and author

baby Jesus

In the beginning the Word already existed. The Word was with God, and the Word was God. . . So the Word became human and made his home among us. He was full of unfailing love and faithfulness. And we have seen his glory, the glory of the Father’s one and only Son. . . But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God.” John 1:1,14,12 NLT

driving in snow storm

*In my last post, I told you I’d share a personal experience of how God’s Word helped me drive through a snow storm and make it home. A number of years ago, I had the opportunity to speak to a group of women in New Jersey. On my way home to Philadelphia, it began to snow, really snow.

Having grown up in the South, I knew nothing about driving in the snow. Needless to say, I was extremely nervous and stressed. And it was if God said to me, “You have just been telling those ladies how to give thanks in everything because they can trust me to work all things in their lives together for their good. (See Romans 8:28-29 and I Thessalonians 5:18} Why don’t you practice what you teach?”

I immediately confessed my lack of faith and thanked God for my situation. “I don’t like it,” I prayed, “and I wouldn’t have ordered this snow storm today. But Lord, you did so it must be for my good. So I’m going to thank you by faith and trust you to get me home safely.”

I knew God would answer my prayer but I didn’t have any emotional peace. I switched the radio to a Christian station. And someone was singing, “He won’t give you more than you can bear. He’ll stake your name to someone in prayer. Someone is praying for you.”

                lady driving         Wow! All the stress and worry drained right out of me and I experienced God’s total peace. I arrived home safely and began to tell Jay and our girls about my experience. My husband asked me what time that was and when I told him, he said, “That’s when we sat down to dinner. And we were praying for you.” ELW

God's Word

I think the greatest weakness in the church today is that almost no one believes that God invests His power in the Bible. Everyone is looking for power in a program, in a methodology, in a technique, in anything and everything but that in which God has placed it—His Word. He alone has the power to change lives for eternity, and that power is focused on the Scriptures.”

R.C. Sproul, The Prayer of the Lord

power of God's Word

Comments
2 Responses to “Crumbs for Please Pass the Manna, Part 6: 7 Characteristics of a Perfect Church”
  1. Bonnie Houser says:

    Liz… have you moved? I’ve not been faithful to read all your crumbs. Let me know your address, etc. All’s well here… F’s knee is great (the operated one)… his neuropathy feet are very problematic. Sandy’s Bible Study started yesterday… we’re doing James McDonalds “Gripped by the Greatness of God”.. He’s very good. After reading your Crumbs… guess I’ll go for a little walk,
    since I missed swimming class today. Love Bonnie H.

    • Hi Bonnie,
      Thanks for checking in. Glad to hear from you and get the news on what’s going on. Unfortunately, I’m not keeping up with anti-aging agenda very well. But I’m blessed that I can still get on the treadmill for two miles most days. Hope to get to SA before long. Miss you.
      Liz

Leave a Reply

