7 Characteristics of a Perfect Church

world-people-25464689

Now that I have your attention, let’s reason together. We all know there is no such thing as a perfect church. At least, not this side of Heaven. Biblically speaking, the Christian church is the body of Christ made up of believers from around the world. Imperfect people, like you and me.

However, let’s reflect on what we think the characteristics of a healthy church would be. You may be a part of what you believe is the ideal church. That’s great!

Or someone reading this may be completely turned off to the church scene. Perhaps you’ve been hurt deeply by so-called Christians. Or you weren’t brought up in a church and you see no reason to start now.

I hope you’ll consider what I have to say with an open mind. And who knows? You may decide you’d like to belong to a group like this.

At some point in the near future, my husband and I will be moving to Wilmington, NC. So, once again we’ll be looking for a church. Over the years, we’ve belonged to numerous denominations in over twenty different places. At one point, Jay and I decided our teenagers would be our #1 priority in finding a church. When our leadership assigned us to Philadelphia, we wanted them to be a part of a youth group where kids were excited about Christ and were motivated to live for Him.

We knew of a fairly new church like that outside Philly but unfortunately it wasn’t in the area our leadership wanted us to live. What were we to do? We had taught our children that family would always come before ministry.

Psalm 90:1 & 16 says, “Lord, you have been our dwelling place throughout all generations. . . May your deeds be shown to your servants, your splendor to their children.”

More than anything, we wanted our ministry to enhance not what we did, but our girls’ positive view of God. Our leaders understood our position and agreed for us to move near Church of the Savior in Wayne, PA. As it turned out, the church became our extended family. Not only did it minister to our family, it provided a place for us to serve, as well.

triangle-logo-20885575

Over the years, I’ve learned God’s church is made up of all kinds of people with a myriad of God-given talents and gifts to pursue and use for His glory. And yet, I’ve also discovered there are a lot of frustrated people with unmet needs and unfulfilled desires.

In Ephesians 4:11-13, we’re told it is the leaders’ responsibility to equip their people to do the work of the church and to build the body of Christ. To what end? Until we get discouraged or tired or give up and quit? No. Verse 13 tells us we are to continue until we’re mature and unified in our faith, according to God’s standard.

I’ve been thinking and praying about this subject a lot. And I’ve arrived at seven characteristics of not a perfect church, but a healthy one. I intended to address this in one post. But after reading what I’d written, my husband offered his input.

This is much too important a subject to cover in one post. It’s only the skeleton. Now you need to add the meat.” So, back to the keyboard I went!

As a result, I invite you to join me for a series unpacking  7 Characteristics of a Perfect Healthy Church.  I hope you’ll stay with me for the duration. And I’d love to have your input along the way. 

woman on computer

How about you? What do you think constitutes a healthy church?

Comments
2 Responses to “7 Characteristics of a Perfect Church”
  1. paynefamily6 says:

    How timely as we are looking for a church to call home for the next year. We just had the discussion with our girls on Sunday that there are no perfect churches. I look forward to reading your posts as we certainly desire to be in a healthy one!

    • Thanks, sweet daughter, and I hope what God gives me to say will be of help to you. I have a daunting task ahead of me and I’m not sure any one church has all the characteristics I’ll be addressing. But perhaps it will give y’all and us some guidelines as we look for a church to call home at least for a time. Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

