From Pastime to Passion

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

God never ceases to amaze me. Four years ago this month, I began Devos and Dumplings. Since then, I’ve written 375 posts. If you know me at all, you know that’s a miracle! According to the WordPress Review, in 2013 Devos was viewed 7,700 times in 74 countries.

In the beginning, I knew next to nothing about computers, much less about creating a blog. Apart from Claire, my computer guru friend, it would have never happened, and I would have given up many times along the way.

I’ll be eternally grateful for my ever gracious, oh so patient friend. Why? Because this blog is much more than a pastime for me. It has become my passion.

Let me explain. When I was 28 years old, I invited Christ to come into my life and live His life in and through me. Over the years, God has given me an insatiable desire that eventually became my life purpose. That is, “to know Him and to make Him known.”

In 2006, my husband and I officially retired after 36 years of full-time ministry with Campus Crusade for Christ. While adjusting to our very different life, I learned something important about retirement. At least, it was important to me. There’s nothing wrong with retiring from the way we do a job or ministry. But hopefully, we never retire from our purpose for living.

For a while, this was a struggle for me. I knew I could continue to grow in my pursuit to know God. All I needed was my Bible and a willing heart. But how was I going to continue to make Him known? And then, one day I asked myself, “What do you love doing more than anything else?”

Immediately, I knew the answer. I love to write about knowing God personally. And I also love to encourage others to pursue God. It was clear and simple. And that’s when Devos and Dumplings was born.

roller coaster 2

For me, blogging has been a roller coaster ride. Exhilarating but often scary, challenging but always rewarding. At times, doubt consumes me and I’m convinced no one is going to read my blog. So why spend all this time and effort to merely fill cyber space?

But then I remind myself of two things. One, I write for God’s eyes and if He chooses to include an audience, that’s His business. And two, if only one person reads what I write and is blessed by it, that’s enough for me.

This is where you come in, my faithful reader. As we continue this journey together, I hope to be able to personalize my thoughts to speak specifically to your heart. I realize you may not believe as I do. Therefore, I pray before I write that my words won’t offend you. Instead, I pray God will reveal to you how much He loves you. And if my words somehow whet your appetite for knowing Him, I’m sure God can do the rest.

Whoever you are, wherever you live, whatever your beliefs, I’m awed by the fact that we’re able to connect through this blog. That’s what I call amazing grace. So, I thank you for allowing me to share my heart with you.

Meanwhile, feel free to leave a comment and share a bit of your heart with me. After all, connecting with you is more than a pastime to me. It’s my passion!

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Comments
19 Responses to “From Pastime to Passion”
  1. vondaskelton says:

    Congratulations on your four years and 375 blog posts! Wow–that’s quite an accomplishment! And I’m like you in that I know I’m called to write my blog, whether it’s for an audience of one or of thousands!

    Thank you for your commitment to know Him and make Him known! Can’t wait to see what He has in store for you, sweet friend!

    • Thanks, Vonda. I know I wouldn’t be writing today if you had not poured your love and information into my heart and my head. You ignited the fire, my friend. Now, hopefully, I can keep it going!

  2. Sara O'Brien says:

    Thank you for your excellent advice. As a new blogger, it spoke to my heart. May your words continue to reach others for Christ!

  3. Extraordinary persistence 🙂 I am myself experiencing that blogging can in fact turn quite addicting and very quickly.

    • Thanks so much, yingying! Since I’m not a real disciplined person, my persistence is definitely by faith. Although I get weary sometimes, I just don’t want to give up on the blogging. And it helps when people like you respond, that’s for sure.

  4. Harriett Salley says:

    i AM ALWAYS IN AWE OF EACH WEEKS BLOG..ESPECIALLY WITH THE JOB OF FINDING YOUR NEW HOME ON YOUR PLATE MAYBE GOD IS KEEPING YOU BUSY WITH HIS AGENDA BEFORE HE SENDS (IF!) YOU AWAY TO PARTS UNKNOWN! i AM SATISFIED IT ALL WILL COME TOGETHER ” IN HIS TIME”. YOU HAVE MUCH MORE TO SHARE WITH US!!! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK ! I LOVE THE SCRIPTURE that says GOD CAN DO INFINATLY MORE THAN WE CAN ASK OR IMAGINE! CARRY ON!!!! HARRIETT

  5. Dorothy Bridger says:

    So glad we connected after so many years. You have a gift, Liz, and I thank you for sharing it. I am blessed to read as you share. Keep it up! Say hi to Jay.
    Love and blessings,
    Dorothy

    • Thanks so much, Dottie, for checking in with me. I love that we’re connected, as well. Only wish we could enjoy a nice long visit to catch up on all you’ve been doing all these years since last we saw each other.

      I appreciate your encouragement concerning my blog. It’s because of people like you that I continue to press on!

      Lots of memories,
      Liz

  6. Elaine & Eliot Smith says:

    Thank you. I enjoy your blogs and this one is also wonderful! Love, Elaine

  7. nzey@yahoo.com says:

    Dear Elizabeth,

    Congratulations for your Eighth Anniversary with “Devos and Dumplings”, and thank you for sharing your ideas with all of us. Your thoughts are appreciated. Keep up and may God Bless you and your family. Caritas

    • Oh, Caritas, it means so much to me to know you’re reading my blog! Thanks for commenting and thanks for the encouragement. I love you dearly and miss you so much. Hope we can come to the next wedding. 🙂

  8. Kim Marshall says:

    Way to go Liz:). I really enjoyed this post and am excited for you. It encourages me too in pursuing Him and reminds me
    that He always makes a way for us to do what we love. Your courage, devotion, and passion are inspiring:).

    • Thank you so much, Kim. Your encouraging remarks mean a lot to me. God is good and you’re right. He will always make a way to fulfill in and through us that which He has put within us by His Spirit. The key is always to stay focused on Him as we pursue His will.
      God bless you, Liz

Leave a Reply

