Time Flies, but Who’s Counting?

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

 

Tomorrow is my birthday. I’ve had so many now I’ve almost lost count. It is true the older we get, the faster time flies. And as much as I would like to stop counting the years, birthdays just keep showing up.

I wonder if we’ll observe our spiritual birthdays in Heaven. Will we have cake and ice cream and open gifts? Perhaps instead of celebrating years, we’ll celebrate blessings. If we’re going to spend the rest of eternity counting our blessings, why not get a head start?

I wonder how many of God’s blessings we miss on a daily basis. Just because we didn’t see them. This morning, I picked up the picture frame that’s sat on our bedside table for years. Once a week, I’ve dusted it without really seeing it.

I’m sure I observed it closely when it was given to me as a gift. But somewhere along the way, I’d stopped seeing it. Before today, I couldn’t have told you what kind of flower was featured in the frame. Nor could I have told you the message written next to it.

This morning, I looked at it; I saw it and I read it, really read it. And I almost broke into tears. The flower in the picture is a hydrangea. When I received the gift, I had no idea the hydrangea would become one of my favorite flowers.

But it was the message that squeezed my heart. “Faith is resting in God’s love, His presence and His provision.” A simple but profound blessing, isn’t it?

frustrated-woman-expense-receipt-29661213

If only I could remember and apply this truth every moment of every day.  For the past two days, I’ve been frustrated because I couldn’t come up with a post for this week. I finally gave up and didn’t even try. But I felt guilty about it. After all, this is the ministry God has given me for this time in my life. When I don’t follow through on it, I feel as if I’ve disappointed God, as well as myself.

This morning, I was listening to Christian music as I walked on the treadmill. Anything to keep my mind off what I’m doing, right? While I was walking and listening, God spoke clearly to me. It was as if He was saying, “Stop fretting over what you’ve done or not done. Stop worrying over what you’re going to write. Just concentrate on walking in and enjoying my Presence. And trust Me to provide whatever you need to accomplish my will for you each moment of every day.”

It is true! My greatest blessing in life doesn’t come from God’s presents to me. My greatest blessing in life is God’s presence in me. When I neglect or ignore His presence, all my desires and efforts pale into obscurity and uselessness.

To do anything less than to allow God’s presence (His Spirit) to reign in our lives is to project a form of godliness without the power. (II Timothy 3:5)  How then can we know and experience the blessing of God’s presence and power in and through us?

We must realize the Holy Spirit IS God’s presence in us. Then:

  • We can know we’re filled with the Holy Spirit when we respond to God’s command for us to be filled and His promise to fill us. (Ephesians 5:15-18; I John 5:14-15)
  • We can know the Holy Spirit has cleansed us when we confess our sins and trust Him to forgive us and cleanse us from all our sins. (I John 1:9)
  • We can know we’re empowered by the Holy Spirit when we trust God to fulfill His promises of power in and through us. (Acts 1:8, John 7:38, I Corinthians 2:4-5, Ephesians 3:20, II Peter 1:3)

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Yes, time flies but who’s counting, right? Thankfully, you don’t have to wait ‘til your birthday to enjoy God’s greatest present to you, His Presence. What does it mean to you to know you can enjoy God’s presence in your everyday life?

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

 

 

Comments
8 Responses to “Time Flies, but Who’s Counting?”
  1. Christen says:

    Happy birthday, Miss Elizabeth! Sure am glad The Lord graced us with your presence!!! You are a gift to so many–including me! I love the work God has called you to at this point in your life–I SO appreciate your openness and transparency. Not to mention, you can make some mean fried chicken!!!
    Your family is blessed to have you. If my mom wasn’t so great, I would steal you!!!!
    Love you!!!!
    Christen

    • Chris, thanks so much for your encouraging comment. I’m so glad God brought you into our lives many years ago and that we’re still connecting. God is good! Love you, my beautiful friend.

  2. Millie Welsh says:

    MOM! I love when you give up and then the Lord does what He wants through you!!!! 🙂 Great post and well said. I’m so blessed to have you as my mom and my friend! Love that saying you wrote about and hopefully you also have those beautiful hydrangeas from the dinner so they can be a reminder of blessing! I LOVE YOU…I also love that Chris just wrote above me…see, you leave a trail of blessed people wherever you go! 🙂

  3. Sherlee Fragel says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR LIZ, SHIRLEE

    _____

    • Thanks, Shirlee for the b’day greeting. It’s so good to hear from you. I’d love to catch up on all that’s going on in your life.
      Let’s connect, my friend.
      Liz

  4. clittle-greene571@comcast.net says:

    Happy Birthday, Sis-Hope you have a wonderful day and I will be thinking of you. I still don’t knowour plans-James is very busy planting his garden and with that comes watering, etc. Whenare you moving? Do you have any time set yet? We want to see you before you leave. I will seend you a bill for Katie and hers-exactly when will they be using the give me the arrival date and leaving date. Wish we could do it free but this has become a big money issue and all expenses have shot quite high! Keep in touch and we will try to make some plans. James of course is mostly concerned with his garden! Again, have a great brithday and we will be thinking of you! Love, Sis

Leave a Reply

