Passing the Tests One Step at a Time

Monday

It’s Monday morning, a new day and the beginning of a productive week. Right?  What is it about Monday mornings that awakens a desire for a fresh start? If only we could gather all our lingering disappointments and throw them out with last week’s newspapers. Wouldn’t that be great?

I wish I had a dollar for every time I’ve said, “I’ll do that tomorrow.” Better yet, I wish I could lose a pound for every time I’ve said, “I’ll start my diet next Monday.” I would be a rich, skinny woman.

But alas, wishing it doesn’t make it so. Without determination, good intentions are merely a pretense of putting false hope in the future while denying the present. The truth is,  tomorrow never comes and Monday becomes another day of hope deferred.

Are you depressed yet? As the old saying goes, misery loves company. Of course, I really don’t want to be miserable. And I certainly don’t want to drag you down with me. So let’s go to God’s Word together and perhaps we can make this a more productive week, starting today. Isn’t that what Mondays are for? An opportunity to begin again?

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

The tendency toward a debilitating mood is not reserved for Mondays. The blues are insidious and can steal our joy any day of the week. How can we avoid giving in to our excuses and disappointments?

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.” Proverbs 3:4-5 NLT

  • Examine your heart. God, I confess my lack of faith. I want to trust the power of your Spirit within me to accomplish infinitely more than I might ask or think according to my own understanding. (Ephesians 3:20 NLT)
  • Seek and desire His will more than your own. Lord, forgive me for following my own agenda, rather than yours. Teach me what your will is for every area of my life and help me to pursue your way, versus my own. (Romans 121-2)
  • Stay on the path. Father, you’ve promised to show me the path you have for me. I trust you to guide me every step of the way. I don’t want to miss a thing you want to do in, for and through me. (Psalm 119:105)
  • Put yourself to the test and watch God work. (James 12-4)

Victory! This morning, I knew I needed to walk on the treadmill. However, my grogginess convinced my aches and pains that I couldn’t do it. My good intentions argued that I must reverse the downward spiral of gaining back the weight I lost a year ago. I was pretty sure which side God was on.

 Was I ready to add determination to my good intentions? There was only one way to find out.  So I decided to put myself to the test. I determined not to give in to the Monday blues. And I chose to obey God’s leading, rather than my own feelings.

 Guess what! It wasn’t easy but I passed my own test. And I did it by faith, one step at a time. There’s a bonus to obedience by faith. The short term blessing is that I actually feel better physically, emotionally and spiritually. The long term blessing is a healthier and happier me, physically, emotionally and spiritually.  

 The abundant life is about walking with God. Sure, we’ll stumble and sometimes we’ll fall. But God never lets go. The key is to trust Him and keep on walking one step at a time.

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

What kind of challenges are you facing this week? What do you do to give yourself a jump start toward a productive week?

woman on computer

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Passing the Tests One Step at a Time”
  1. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    Way to take that step of faith, Mom. What a great reminder of how we need to get moving and get stepping by faith and not how we feel. Get in motion and let God do the rest. Love you!

    • Thanks for your encouragement in this important area and your prayers are working. I’m walking on the treadmill 5 to 6 days a week and now I’m back to tracking points on my intake of food. It really works if I’ll just continue to keep up with it.
      Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

