How to Get Rid of an Unwanted Guest

door knocker

You may have wondered why I didn’t post last week. Honestly, I wish I had made the effort. I would have enjoyed being with you much more than being stuck with an unwanted guest at my house.

I didn’t work on a post because I didn’t feel like it. I’d like to tell you I was busy all week doing important things. But then, I would be lying to you. The truth is I was busy entertaining a funk.

Here’s what happened. Monday morning, there was a knock on the door of my heart. When I opened the door, Miss Funk came right in and unpacked her belongings.

I learned something about funks. They’re not gracious guests; they’re downright greedy. You give them a snack and they consume the whole enchilada. And if you give them an hour, they’re likely to stay all week. Of course, like any good hostess, I made Miss Funk feel right at home.

Instead of entertaining her, I should have been starving the pesky thing. But instead, I kept on feeding her. What did I feed Miss Funk? Exactly what she wanted!

When I’m in a funk, I tend to do only what I feel like doing instead of what I know is best for me. What do I do when I don’t feel like curbing my appetite? I eat whatever I want when I want it. When I feel like being lazy, I have no problem doing just that. And when I’m lazy, the cluttered drawer or closet goes untouched for yet another week. Do you get the picture?

insanity

Albert Einstein once said, “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

The dictionary defines a funk as “a state of depression.” I’m pretty sure I’m not clinically depressed or in need of a psychiatrist. But according to Einstein, no doubt about it, I’m insane.

At this point in my life, my blog is my venue for ministering and communicating with people like you. I like to think it’s an opportunity to plant flowers in the lives of others. However, all this week, my self-inflicted funk kept telling me, “Why bother? It’s not worth it.”

When I feed my funk, it’s like putting fertilizer on weeds. Why in the world would I plant flowers and then feed the weeds in my life? There’s only one way to get rid of Miss Funk. I’ll have to starve her and feed my faith, instead.

focus 2

I’m hoping this week to change my focus from funkiness to faithfulness. Hopefully, I’ll lock the door on Miss Funk and open it to more productive opportunities. Like spending more time with you!

Do you ever get in a funk and tend to stay there? If so, join me and let’s starve the funk and feed our faith. Let’s FOCUS:

F ix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith. Hebrews 12:1-11

O bey the Holy Spirit’s leading, rather than our own feelings. Galatians 5:16-18

C onsider the consequences of indulging self. Galatians 5:13-15

U nderstand our “sanity” depends upon right thinking. Philippians 4:8-9

S et our sights on serving others rather than ourselves. Galatians 5:13

lazy woman 

Has Miss Funk ever camped out at your house? What did you do to get rid of your unwanted guest?

 

Comments
20 Responses to “How to Get Rid of an Unwanted Guest”
  1. Barbara Plachta says:

    Liz, What a good post. I can really relate to this today with the rainy gloomy weather outside, I don’t want to do anything but wallow in my self pity, but after reading this I pulled out my bible and read some scripture and now I am going to go and exercise and get my act in gear. Thank you for posting this. It sure was good to see you and Jay at service on Sunday. Barb

    • Hello friend. Thanks for the comment. I’m so glad my post helped you get going. Now if only it will work for me! I know I have to be focused and intentional or I will choose the easier way every time. It was so good to see you and Ray on Sunday. We’ve missed y’all. Thanks again for the encouragement.

  2. Millie Welsh says:

    Mom! This was a great post! Glad you shared it and that you booted out your houseguest! Totally can relate to allowing the funk in for too long! Thanks for your honesty and turning that around to a teaching moment – like you’re so good at! 🙂 Keep these going, Mom! Just because few respond does NOT mean they aren’t being read! I promise! Love you!

    • Thanks for your encouragement and for your motivation to keep me going. It IS what keeps me going, for sure. As I told Lisa, you and your sisters are my most special disciples. And yet, I’ve never felt like I was discipling. Just doing life together and I’ve loved every minute.

  3. Sara O'Brien says:

    I really enjoyed this post! So true and a lesson I needed today. Thank you!

    • Thanks, Sara for your comment. I’m so glad we’re connecting in this way. And I guess we’re all tempted to entertain Miss Funk at times. Hopefully, we can encourage one another to getting rid of her before she takes over! Thanks again.

  4. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    Satan certainly knows where are the most vulerable and how to try and bring us down. Thank you for your openess and willingness to share tools that we can use to allow the Holy Spirit to fight that battle. I am glad your house guest has moved on, wouldn’t it be nice to just lock the door and never allow her back in. While that might not happen at least we can shorten the stay. 🙂

    • You’re so right. I guess we can look forward to heaven where she definitely is not going! Love you and appreciate your encouraging comments. As I said to Lisa, you girls are my most special disciples. And yet, I never thought I was discipling. Just doing life together and I loved it. Still do, in fact! Mom

  5. Thelma Anthony says:

    Liz, I know what you are talking about. I was just playing games on the computer and I kept saying to myself quit because you need to do you BSF questions but I kept playing. Then I said Lord your not pleased with me and I not pleased with myself. Thank you for reminding me that I’m not alone, but that isn’t a comfort. Thank you for the sweet devo. Love, Thelma

    • Hello friend. Thanks for your comment. We’re in this boat together aren’t we? By the way, I hope you didn’t think for one minute I was talking about you. We loved having you stay with us. You’re welcome to come back any time. If Miss Funk shows up, we’ll get rid of her together.

      Love you, Liz

  6. Lisa says:

    I know Miss Funk pretty well my self mama! Thanks for your wisdom and encouragement on how to kick her to the curb!! Lol. I love you and I’m so thankful for you’re devotion to blogging so that the rest of us can learn from your wise thoughts!

    • Hi Sweetie. And I’m so thankful for your encouragement. It’s what keeps me going. You and your sisters are my most special disciples. And yet, it has never felt like I was discipling. I’ve loved doing life with you.

      Love you, Mom

  7. Shari Dickerson says:

    Liz, Little Miss Funk was two timing last week, cause she visited me as well! What a RAT. Thanks for posting. I am enjoying your blogs and love seeing your face on FB these days. God keeps bringing to mind the lyrics of a song “turn your eyes upon Jesus and look full in his wonderful face and the things of earth will grow strangely dim in the light of his glory and grace”

    • Hi Shari, Thanks for the encouraging comment. Sorry Miss Funk came to your house, as well. Hopefully, you’ve kicked her to the curb. And thanks for the reminder for us to remember the results of turning our eyes upon Jesus. He grows brighter and Miss Funk vacates the premises.

      Love you, my friend. I only wish we lived closer to one another.
      Liz

  8. Harriett Salley says:

    MY REPLY WOULD TAKE UP YOUR COMPUTER!!! iT WILL NEED A LUNCH!!! i CAN RELATE THO!!! tHIS IS PROBABLY ONE OF YOUR BEST!!! HARRIETT

  9. Christen says:

    Know the feeling all too well! Have to remind myself of the truth of who God is–sovereign, good, always has my best interests at heart. Love your “focus”reminder. You have a way with words–so appreciate your transparency!

    • Thanks, sweet friend for your comment. And thanks for your encouragement. I appreciate you and it’s people like you who keep me going. I only know how to tell it like it is and I feel obligated to share what God is teaching me through the good and the bad. It’s such a blessing to know God is using my measly input to touch hearts for Him.
      Love you,
      Liz

  10. Mary Jenson says:

    Great acrostic, Liz! We are so alike. I could relate to every single thing you said. Thank you! Love, M.

Leave a Reply

