Bugged by God

person thinking

When is the last time God bugged you about something? It happens to me a lot. He really can be like a worrisome parent. Perhaps that’s because sometimes I act like a lazy or disobedient child.

He has a way of reminding us of that one thing that just isn’t right in our lives, doesn’t He? It can be a serious issue we need to deal with. Or it can seem like a trivial thing to us. And yet for some reason, God decides to bug us about it.

For example, the other day when we’d been snowed in for the second day, I began to crave something warm and chocolaty. It didn’t take long to find a recipe that literally made my mouth water. It looked easy and I had all the ingredients, except for vanilla ice cream. No problem; whipped cream would do just fine.

In less than an hour, my husband and I dived into a good-size helping of rich, warm and gooey chocolate cake. Oh my, was it yummy!

By the way, I posted the recipe on my blog last Friday. I called it Valentine’s Day Chocolate Pudding Cake. It sounds like I’m trying to entice you, doesn’t it? Well, we all know a treat every now and then is not only special, it’s necessary. However, gluttony is not a wise choice. In fact, I’m pretty sure the Bible calls it sin.

warning-sign-24261334

When I finished my portion, I decided I really wanted more. So, I ignored the warning of the voice within and ate a second piece. No sooner had I swallowed the last bite when the guilt set in. I literally felt bloated as the calories began to do their thing.

Why does God bug us? Because He loves us and wants us to make wise choices so we can be healthy and free of guilt. He really is like a parent, isn’t He?

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know I love words. As a believer, more than anything I want my words to glorify God and encourage others. And yet, I sometimes have trouble with what comes out of my mouth, as well as what goes in it.

Unfortunately, there are a couple of words hidden in the recesses of my mind left over from my BC (before Christ) days. Those words aren’t honoring to God or to anyone else. Therefore, I don’t purposely think them, say them, or much less write them. But invariably, when I bang my toe or cut my finger, guess what comes out of my mouth. Yep. Those very words I’d like removed permanently from my not so vast vocabulary.

This probably doesn’t bother God as much as it does me. It definitely doesn’t bother my children or grandchildren. It’s so unlike me, they just laugh at my sudden lack of restraint.

On a more serious note, there are times when my love for words turns sour. When I’m upset or disappointed, I can say things that are hurtful to others, especially those closest to me. And yet, I know my family loves me unconditionally. And I’m pretty sure they aren’t angry or ashamed of me when I make a mistake. So what makes me think God is any less patient or forgiving than my family?

The truth is when God bugs us, it’s actually a blessing. This means the Holy Spirit is at work in our lives. His job is to convict us of the things that aren’t pleasing to God or beneficial in our relationship with Him.

If we’re not bothered by those things, we’re in trouble. For this means we will have lost our sensitivity to God’s presence in our lives. And without His guidance, we’re sure to stumble along, helpless, as well as hopeless.

So, I’ve decided it’s better to be bugged by God than complacent about the things that are hurtful to Him. I’m convinced God wants us to be all we can be in the power of His Spirit. And I also believe it breaks His heart when we settle for less than He has for us.

When you feel bugged by God, take heart. God is at work in you. When the Holy Spirit convicts you of sin, He also stands ready to cleanse you. Your part is to confess the sin and ask God to fill and empower you with His Spirit. As you walk closely to God in this way, you will grow in your faith and in your relationship with Him.

According to Oswald Chambers in My Utmost for His Highest, God is not finished with us yet. That’s why He “will allow nothing to escape; every detail of our lives is under His scrutiny. His purpose is to produce the finished product.”

How does it make you feel to know that God loves you so much that He cares about every detail of your life? And if you allow Him to, He will work in your heart and orchestrate everything in your life for your good and to His glory. That’s good news, isn’t it? Are you ready to be bugged by God?completed

How does it make you feel to know God loves you so much that He cares about every detail of your life? And if you allow Him to, He will work in your heart and orchestrate everything in your life for your good and to His glory. That’s good news, isn’t it? Are you ready to be bugged by God?

woman on computer

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Bugged by God”
  1. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    Yum, the chocolate pudding cake sounds delicious, I will try it. Thank you for the reminder that God’s bugging is a great thing, and when it leads to repentance a truly freeing thing removing us from the bondage of sin knowing that because of His grace the mistakes don’t have to be what define us but how we handle them and move on in the power of His Spirit, now there is something I want to be defined by. Love you!

  2. Mike Carter says:

    Got it and copied your post for Shirley to read.

Leave a Reply

