Silencing the Voice in our Heads and Listening to the Voice in our Hearts

voices in the head

When I was a young child, my mother took me to the doctor. After observing me during the visit he said, “She can’t hear you. Can’t you tell she’s reading your lips?” As it turned out, my deafness was caused by enlarged tonsils and adenoids and surgery solved the problem.

Over Christmas, our oldest daughter gently informed me I need to have my ears checked. For years, I’ve gone to the ENT doctor every six months to have the ear wax removed so I can hear. Well, I happen to have an appointment this week. But after that, I think I need to have my hearing tested.

I wonder if God observes me and says, “Read my lips, child. You need to check your hearing. And by the way, you need to silence the voice in your head in order to listen to my voice in your heart.”

Unfortunately, the voice in my head just won’t shut up! And the stubborn thing has the gall to speak to me in first person.

I’m too old. I’m lazy. I’m hopelessly undisciplined. I’m not smart enough, etc. etc. etc.

Does that same voice ever occupy your head? It may be different words, but I’ll bet it’s just as demeaning and demoralizing as it is for me. What then can we do to silence it?

prescription-pad-5023623

I guess we’ll have to remove the wax. And we may even have to wear a hearing aid. Let’s consider the Great Physician’s prescription to remove the “wax” and adjust our “hearing aids”: 

Remove the Wax:

Consider His love.

“(The Lord) does not punish us for all our sins; he does not deal harshly with us, as we deserve. For his unfailing love toward those who fear him is as great as the height of the heavens above the earth. He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west.” Psalm 103:10-12 NLT

Confess your sins.

“If we claim we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and not living in the truth. But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness.” I John 1:8-9 NLT

Call upon Him.

“Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.” Jeremiah 33:3 NIV

Adjust your Hearing Aid:

Listen to His Voice.

“. . . Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the Lord your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. . . . ” Deuteronomy 30:19b & 20b NIV

Learn from Him.

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:29 NIV

Lean on Him.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6 NIV

This morning, I desperately needed to silence the voice in my head so I could write this week’s post. In my Mornings with Tozer devotion, I was reminded why God “puts up with us, waits for us and desires to lead us on” regardless of our weaknesses and failures.

“My brethren,” A. W. Tozer says, “This should be our greatest encouragement in view of all that we know about ourselves: God loves us without measure, and He is so keenly interested in our spiritual growth and progress that He stands by in faithfulness to teach and instruct and discipline us as His own dear children.”

How about you? Are you ready to silence the lies of the enemy in your head? I am. As a result, let’s be willing to unclog our ears so we can listen and obey the voice in our hearts, God’s voice!

listening ear

Do you hear Him? Is God speaking to your heart? In the quietness of your soul, are you listening?

 woman on computer

Comments
4 Responses to “Silencing the Voice in our Heads and Listening to the Voice in our Hearts”
  1. Happy New Year, Liz! I hope you’re doing well. My life took a crazy turn in the fall and it got crazier with each passing month. I’m slowly getting back into my writing and so appreciated these words. May 2014 be one of purpose and focus and CLARITY for both of us!

    • So sorry I’ve taken so long to reply to your comment. I was so glad to hear from you. I’ve missed you, girl. But you have been through a lot over the past months. I love your prayer and I also pray for purpose, focus and clarity for us both. I think God is already doing that. Wish we could sit down and have a long talk about what God is doing in both our lives. Love you, my friend. Liz

  2. Kathy Biedenharn says:

    Have been on the go, since before Thanksgiving. Just returned from a short trip to New Orleans to see the WWII Museum. EVERYONE shold make the effort to go and spend time there. It is over the top and a reminder of what a different country we could be living in were it not for those men and women in harms way. Well enough about that, but now that I am back home with no future plans of travel, I said to Albert on the way from the airport to here, I am ready to slow down and BE STILL! And then I read this and I know God/ is speaking to me through your writing and scripture selections.
    As always, Thank you Liz

    Kathy B

    • My, you have been busy. I hope you’re getting the opportunity to be still and rest. Thanks for your encouragement. God gives me just enough encouragement through people like you to keep me going. Love you, Liz

Leave a Reply

