Living the Supernaturally Natural Life in 2014

2014

How is it possible? Another 365 days gone, never to be redeemed. As I look back on 2013, I wonder if I accomplished any of the resolutions I would have made if I’d known what I know now.

Webster describes a “resolution as a firm decision.” Years ago, I made a firm decision not to make any New Year’s resolutions. Too many obstacles too soon to motivate me to keep at whatever I resolved to do.

For 2014, I’ve decided to entertain a new perspective. At the end of this year, I’d love to look back and know that I’ve used all my God-given resources to make the most of my God-given time. Would you like to join me in my quest?

The question is: What will it take? Over the years, I’ve harbored an abundance of good intentions. But all too often, I’ve discovered noble objectives aren’t enough. I venture to say you’ve probably experienced your own battle with good intentions.

So dear ones, let’s forget about making lists of do’s and don’ts. God is not interested in our self-efforts. His desire for us is that we trust His Spirit to enable us to do His will in His way for His purpose.

In other words, He wants us to live supernaturally natural lives. And, according to II Peter 1:3, we already have all the resources we need to live this kind of life.

“His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.”

As believers, the only way we can live a truly abundant life is to by faith form Godly habits. We all know a habit is a behavior we acquire by frequent repetition. However, a Godly habit is a behavior we acquire by communicating with God and consistently drawing upon His power to live a life worthy of His calling.

family picture Christmas 2013 

Over Christmas, everyone in our immediate family came together for the first time in nine years. Nineteen of us ranging in ages from 10 to 78 enjoyed a wild and wacky time. But I’m sure if you asked any one of us to describe our favorite part of all our activities, we would say our Christmas family devotion.

Below is a revised version of our devotion. Each person was asked ahead of time to be prepared to answer the accompanying questions. Judging from the numbers of tissues we went through, it was evident that everyone was overwhelmed with joy and gratitude.

I share this with you in hopes that it will somehow be a blessing to you as you consider the Godly habits you would like to develop more fully in 2014.

Ten examples of Godly habits:

  1. The habit of talking to God. Jeremiah 29:11-13
  2. The habit of listening to God: Proverbs 1:5
  3. The habit of living moment-by-moment in the power of the Holy Spirit.  I John 1:9; Ephesians 5:18; Galatians 5:22-25
  4. The habit of trusting God to work every challenge and circumstance in our lives for our good. Romans 8:28
  5. The habit of giving thanks in every challenge and circumstance in our lives.    I Thessalonians 5:18
  6. The habit of right thinking. Romans 12:1-2
  7. The habit of obedience. I John 5:3-5
  8. The habit of loving others. I Corinthians 13:4-8a
  9. The habit of forgiveness. Ephesians 4:32
  10. The habit of praise. Psalm 145:1-7

Questions and thoughts to ponder as you go back over the list and read the accompanying scriptures:

Over the past year, has God in some way been working one of these habits into your life? If so, what has He taught you about this specific area?                                                                 

Which one of the ten habits would you like to ask God to help you develop more fully in the coming year?

 

habits 

 

Thanks for taking this journey with me. If and when the going gets tough, let’s remember this encouraging promise as we pursue the supernaturally natural life in 2014.

 

“For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.” II Peter 1:8

 

To God be the glory for all He has done and all He is going to do to help us develop Godly habits. By the way, if you’re so inclined, I’d love for you to share with me how you’d like me to pray for you in 2014. After all, whether I know you or not, I consider you a part of my extended family. Therefore, it will be a privilege to pray for you.  

 woman on computer

Comments
5 Responses to “Living the Supernaturally Natural Life in 2014”
  1. Sara O'Brien says:

    True wisdom to start the new year. Thank you!

  2. Lisa says:

    Sweet memories of an incredibly special Christmas with our blessed family! Thanks mama for once again, bringing us all together and pouring your wisdom out into us through the devotion! I don’t make New Year resolutions either…wonder where I get that from…but I do desire to form a Godly habit of spending quality time with my Heavenly Father! You can pray my heart will crave that time and that my mind will absorb, understand and retain His words to me! I love you mama!!

    • Harriett Salley says:

      I have copied Your last sentence, Lisa, and put it in my Deacon material, That is my greatest prayer as I prepare for ordination. Covet your prayers.

  3. Thanks sweet daughter for your affirming comment. It means everything to know our family appreciates our time together as much as we do.

Leave a Reply

