The Light at the End of the Tunnel of LIfe

dark tunnel

Life is like a tunnel, a passageway through which God takes us from conception to our last breath. At times, the tunnel is spacious, allowing us the freedom to soar and explore the world around us. All the while, the light at the end of the tunnel shines brightly, lighting our path with hope.

However, there are times when unexpected twists and turns can plunge us into darkness. The deeper into the tunnel we go, the more we begin to doubt. What if I can’t find my way? What if there is no light at the end of the tunnel?

On September 23rd, my tunnel took a dark turn. (For details, click on my last post, Where is Dr. House When You Need Him?)  

In a nutshell, after twelve days of intense pain and a barrage of doctors trying to determine exactly what was wrong with me, I learned I had a rare infection in the joint between the collarbone and breastbone that had spread along the chest muscles to the armpit. On October 5th, the surgery was performed to drain the infection from multiple sites. On October 11th, the doctor released me to go home.

Until recently, I’ve had very little mental, physical or spiritual energy. As a result, it’s been difficult for me to focus on anything other than my circumstances. Yet, this didn’t keep God from showing up.

questions

One night, I lay awake wondering if perhaps I was at the end of my tunnel. I questioned God. What is this thing that’s happening to me? Why is it taking so long for me to get well? When, Lord, will I feel good again?

God answered me not with words but with the assurance of His presence.  It was as if He had lifted my weary body and was carrying me through the tunnel. Filled with a peace I didn’t fully understand, I prayed. “Lord, if it’s my time to go, you know I’m ready. But then, I began to cry. “But Lord, I don’t want to leave my family.”

Apparently, it wasn’t my time to go, for I’m still here. I’m feeling almost well and after seven weeks of antibiotics, the home health nurse removed the picc line from my arm today. Hopefully, this is the end of this strange chapter of my tunnel life.

Perhaps you’re going through a dark period in your life. You may be wondering if there really is a light at the end of your tunnel. This much I’ve learned. When we can’t see the light, we have a choice to make. We can doubt in the dark what God has shown us in the light. Or we can trust God to light our way with His presence and His promises.

What if we don’t feel God’s presence when the tunnel is dark? What if we don’t experience His power over the darkness? That’s when we must dig deep and trust His heart.

Jesus said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life. . .  Walk by the light you have so darkness doesn’t destroy you. If you walk in darkness, you don’t know where you’re going. As you have the light, believe in the light. Then the light will be within you, and shining through your lives. You’ll be children of light.”  John 8:12 NIV & 12:35-36 The Message

During our darkest moments, God wants to pour His light over, in and through His children. And God promises to bless us when we learn to praise Him and walk in the light of His presence. (Psalm 89:15)

Is there a light at the end of the tunnel? Absolutely! God’s presence is the light at the end of the tunnel. And it’s the light of His presence that ushers us through the tunnel and into a new era—an era where there is no darkness.

light at end of tunnel

When you’ve needed it most, how has God blessed you with the light of His presence?

woman on computer

Comments
6 Responses to “The Light at the End of the Tunnel of LIfe”
  1. My goodness, Liz! I totally missed your last post and had no idea you were going through this. Praise God for His mercy and grace in allowing you more time here with your family! I’m praying for increased strength and healing, for confidence in His will for your life, and for continued strength for Jay as he cares for you. Praising God, too, for your son-in-law who dug deeper to find the problem.

    I love you and pray that soon this will be another story you can simply look back on and know you were being carried by the Father.

  2. Lisa says:

    Sooo good to read your post just now, mama! Even better that you’re feeling better and pic lines removed! Praises!!! Great reminder of walking in the light because we ARE children of the light. It’s crazy how even small things can dim the light and make it difficult to see! I love you!

  3. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    So glad to have you back blogging and feeling better. Once again you have been a blessing in your difficult time with your vulnerability and willingness to allow the Lord to use your trials to reach out to others. I love you and am so thankful you are finally feeling better!

Leave a Reply

