The Greatest Joy – A Revelation Worth Celebrating

two women talking

Last week, I asked you to think about what ignites your greatest joy. We all experience joy in many different ways. But the emphasis here is on greatest joy.

I so wish we could sit down together and discuss your answer. You’ll be interested to know what I’ve learned so far. From the conversations and comments I’ve received, greatest joy relates to three areas: family, God’s purpose and making a difference in someone’s life.

Suppose we could poll this question about greatest joy with everyone who reads this blog. I strongly believe there would be a specific theme running through our answers.

Relationships!

Does your greatest joy come from your relationships? Mine does. I’ve shared with you my life purpose/mission. That is, to know God and to make Him known. Knowing is all about relationships, isn’t it?

God's joy

Ponder this question with me: What do you think ignites God’s greatest joy? I believe God’s greatest joy comes from the relationships within the Trinity, as well as His relationship with His people.

Why else would God, the Father send His Son to die for us? Why else would God, the Son suffer the emotional, spiritual and physical agony of the cross? Why else would God, the Holy Spirit stand by and let Jesus suffer and die?

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:2

Why? For the joy of obtaining the prize that was set before Jesus. What was the prize? Relationships. When Jesus won the victory over sin and death, He made it possible for us to enjoy a personal relationship with God. In essence, you and I were the prize. You and I were the joy that helped to sustain Jesus through His darkest hours.

In an article written by our daughter Millie, she says this about relationships: “(God) shows us glimpses of Himself through those He puts in our lives. Which also means you get to be a tangible expression of God’s love for people in your life.” That’s something to think about, isn’t it?

Since it’s too long to include here, I’ll give you the link to Made for Relationships by Millie Welsh. The article is well worth your reading. It’s full of helpful insights, as well as a chart to help you evaluate your relationships.


http://crupressgreen.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/MFR1.pdf 

In closing, I pray for the fruit of the Holy Spirit (especially joy) to abound in your life and in your relationships with God and with one another.                            

fruit of the spirit

I’d love to know your thoughts on your greatest joy. Leave a comment.

woman on computer

Comments
8 Responses to “The Greatest Joy – A Revelation Worth Celebrating”
  1. Mary Jenson says:

    HI, dear friend and dear friend’s daughter (remember, Millie, I knew you when . . . ) I got so much out of this post today! Hadn’t really thought about Jesus’s sacrifice as a relationship-builder, or at least in those specific terms, or at least in terms that also included our earthly relationships. It’s so clear now, of course!

    And, Millie, I LOVED your article! So well done! Love the Relationship Cycle–so clear, and transferable. This is one thing that came to mind as I was reading it: I’ve been studying John 14 and right at the beginning Jesus talks about the place prepared for me in His Father’s house. You know, that has never motivated me that much. It’s metaphorical, of course, but still it didn’t hit me until this time of more in depth meditation. What I took away was this: so often I don’t feel QUITE a part of “the group,” regardless of which group it is! But Jesus left earth to prepare a PLACE for me where I will ALWAYS feel at home, welcomed, understood, valued, accepted, one of the ‘in crowd.’ Never on the outside ever again.

    The way you diagramed the RC brings this all around. I’m eager to share it with my friends–and I thank God daily for them all. So many BFFs, as each different one enriches my life.

    Thanks so much, you Welch women! Love you, and MISS SEEING YOU!
    (note my new email if you don’t have it)

    • Mary, my friend, I was thrilled to see your comment. Thanks for your input. And thanks for your kind words about Millie. She’ll be so pleased to have heard from you. Love you so much. Just wish we weren’t so far apart. I miss you. We have good memories, don’t we? Liz

      • Millie says:

        So fun, Mary! Thanks for reading it! The Lord has certainly blessed 20+ years of using that little chart!! Thanks, Mom, for pointing others to the Lord and to the article! Humbling!

  2. Pat Rhea says:

    Thank you so much! Liz for your devotions!! The one you posted the very last time I have misplaced & was wondering if I could get it again– Forgot the title– wanted o pass it on — thanks! Need all the help I can get– even at this age!!! Have a good Labors Day. Warm greetings to Jay & Millie. Will be tracing her down too! Ruth’s last Newsletter was exceptional. Both girls are!! Don’t you agree? A&P

    Sent from my iPad

    On Aug 28, 2013, at 2:52 PM, Devos and Dumplings wrote:

    WordPress.com Elizabeth Welsh posted: ” Last week, I asked you to think about what ignites your greatest joy. We all experience joy in many different ways. But the emphasis here is on greatest joy. I so wish we could sit down together and discuss your answer. Youll be interested to know w”

    • Thanks, Pat for your encouragement. I’m so glad we’re connected through my blog. I’ll re-send the last post. You are so right about our girls. We’re beyond blessed, aren’t we? Y’all have a good week-end, as well. Love you, Liz

  3. Joby Anthony says:

    My greatest joy is my relationship with my Lord and Savior,family and friends. My friends are very important to me because my family is only a phone call away but I can’t get a hug through the phone. I feel God’s hugs all day long, when Iwhisper his name. I’m so happy to be able to serve my Lord. Thank you Liz for what you do for me and my Jeannie. Love, Thelma

    • Thanks, Thelma for checking in to share your greatest joy. Well said! We’re so blessed, aren’t we? By the way, you know I love Jeannie. She means a lot to me and now I’m blessed with knowing you, as well. Love you, my friend

  4. Jeannie says:

    You know your greatest joy when you experience your greatest heartache! Relationships matter! Thank you Liz for hanging in there with me!

Leave a Reply

