The Key to Overcoming SADD

(Note: If you missed last week’s post, I shared my struggle with what I call Spiritual Attention Deficit Disorder (SADD). If you’d like to read it, look on the right side of the homepage of my blog. It’s called Overcoming SADD – Focus, Focus, Focus!  It can also be found with previous posts in the Food for Thought category.)

key

The key to overcoming SADD is to focus on God and His agenda. Easy to say, but not so easy to implement. Why so? Because it’s human nature for us to focus on what we need, want and/or worry about. Focusing on self comes naturally. Focusing on God comes only one way, supernaturally.

Frankly, I don’t worry about what God thinks of me. After all, He is a God of grace and unconditional love. I struggle more over disappointment with myself.

Recently, I asked myself this question: What would it take for you to be satisfied with yourself, content with who you are and what you are doing for God?

I came to this conclusion: It would take self-discipline, freedom from self-induced distractions and organization of my time and pursuits.

My greatest desire is to live for God and influence people on His behalf. However, when I examine my conversation with myself, I notice something very telling. Look back over what you’ve read so far. What do you see?

Do you see a prevailing theme? I do, and it’s called SELF! Is it possible my focus has been more on improving myself rather than on God, Himself? Sure, my intentions have been noble but they’ve only led to frustration. I’m thinking I need to readjust my focus.

Oswald Chambers addresses the issue with these words from My Utmost for His Highest:

 “Don’t ask me to be confronted with the strong reality of redemption on behalf of the filth of human life surrounding me today; what I want is anything God can do for me to make me more desirable in my own eyes. . . God cannot deliver me while my interest is merely in my own character.”

Self is an insidious thing. It demands our focus and then muddles our motives with grandiose ideas on what we can do for God. And all the while, our Creator is waiting for us to allow Him to fill us with Himself. Waiting for us to focus on Him until we become like Him, broken and reshaped to do His will, not our own.

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” Heb. 12:2-3

 eyes

Seeing is believing! Do you agree?

Comments
8 Responses to “The Key to Overcoming SADD”
  1. Kim Marshall says:

    Hi Liz-:). I listen to Joseph Prince a lot and love him because he is completely focused on Jesus and His Finished work and His obedience rather than our’s. Recently he shared something I thought was so good and goes right a long with your blog this week:) He shared that the most painful thing in life is being self-occupied. He said God showed him this:)- Being self occupied is a bad “H-A-B-I-T”. You remove the H and you still have A BIT:) You remove the A and the B and you still have IT:). The only way to remove the “I” is with the t (cross). That really blessed me and yes- I can relate to all that you shared:). And yes- Focus Focus Focus is the key:) On Christ and His obedience and His righteousness. I am seeing how foundational it is that our hearts are established in His righteousness. (2 Corinthians 5:21) My devotion this morning was so good that I would love to share it, so I will email it:) You are a blessing! Love, Kim

  2. Harriet Salley says:

    Morning Liz! You can see I am a week or two behind with my computer ! A definite SADD symptom! I make lists of things to do, sometimes getting up in the middle of the night to jot down something I have forgotten! Morning brings a puzzle of “What are these scribbles I tried to write in the dark on a grocery bill?” After being away for a couple of days, I am worrying about what I have forgotten to put on the list, which goes on and on. Love to check things off the list! Focus, focus,focus!!! Could I just crumble the list and just start with today? Who would I upset? How important was it in the first place? Today, God and I are going to have a session on what and who is important in my life. That will start a new list!!!!!

    The first thing I have to do is to thank you for the time you spend (very well spent) keeping us on track. I keep telling myself “God is in control” Why am I always “stewing”? Keep on keeping on! Love. Harriett

  3. Mary Beth says:

    Hey Mom, excellent as usual. One thought I was having as I read it apart from the fact that it is indeed human nature to focus on ourselves and while we are striving to do better with noble goals why is it so hard? I thought perhaps because we really are our own worst critics, very hard on ourselves, so it is never good enough. We don’t have the capacity for grace that comes from the Lord. Because of God’s grace we can stop striving so hard on our own, rest, trust, and allow Him to complete that good work He has already begun in us. By grace we will reach the goals He has for us, be used by Him, and continue to morph into that person He desires.

    • Wise, wise, wise words and ones I probably need to hear every day. Perhaps I should post them on my mirror to remind meof great truths you’ve captured in those few words. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I love you, dear daughter. Mom

  4. harriett salley says:

    Mary Beth and I think the same way! God loves us as we are, cracked, broken, never feeling whole. Maybe The key is to keep striving, not putting ourselves down, because after all we know who is in control. and he can change us as we ask and have faith! I have already told you more than I know! wishing you peace that passeth understanding! Talk about Blessing! You will never know what a blessing you share with us each time you send a message! Best prayer I have ever heard: Ask, Receive, WOW! ( gives more that we can ask or imagine! Much Love, Harriett

    • Thanks dear friend, for your comment. You are so right. He is working in and through our lives even when we don’t know or acknowledge it. Now I’ve told you more than I know!

      I do know this much. I love and appreciate you!

      Liz

Leave a Reply

