Overcoming SADD – Focus, Focus, Focus!

confusion

My name is Elizabeth Welsh and I have a wasting disease. If I allow it to go unchecked, I fear I will waste what’s left of the potential God has for me.

I call my disease a Spiritual Attention Deficit Disorder. How do I know I have SADD? I have a deficiency in the ability to concentrate on what it will take for me to become the person I want to be: dedicated, disciplined and determined.

Somewhere within me a voice cries out, “BECOME? At your age? You should already BE the accomplished person you want to be. What makes you think you can truly change at your age? Why even try?”

God’s Word tells me I have every resource I need to live a life pleasing to Him. I know what his resources are and I depend upon them every day of my life. I know how to draw upon His promises by spending quality time in His Word. I know how to appropriate the power of His Spirit on a moment-by-moment basis. 

And yet, how can my life be pleasing to God when I’m so easily distracted, disillusioned and discombobulated? Sure, I have dreams concerning my writing. But even my dreams are foggy and allusive. I don’t even know what I really want any more, much less how to accomplish what God wants for me.

Are you wondering if you have a touch of SADD? Perhaps you’ve experienced some of the following symptoms. I certainly have.

Symptoms of SADD: 

  • Ineffective quiet times (duty led, spoon fed, and barely read)
  • Poor use of time (choosing to do what’s easy, comfortable, and non-threatening)
  • Distractions (allowing every little thing to take precedence over my desire to be productive)
  • Discouragement (over past mistakes, present circumstances, or fears of the future)
  • Unhealthy self-talk (manifested either in rationalization or culpability)
  • Doubts (concerning God’s leading and my abilities)
  • Despair (over wasted time and lost opportunities)  

In my opinion, the cause of SADD is a lack of FOCUS. I believe the cure for SADD is to FOCUS. And the continuum for overcoming SADD is an ongoing commitment to FOCUS.

I confess I haven’t overcome SADD and its insidious effect on my life. But God has given me a prescription that helps. That is, if I take it as directed.  🙂

FOCUS:

F – Form a consistent pattern of prayer and praise. (I Thessalonians 5:17-18) Follow a consistent plan for Bible reading/study. (Psalm 119:14-16, II Timothy 2:15, Nehemiah 8:12)

O – Order the priorities of your heart and follow through with your actions. (Psalm 20:4, Proverbs 16:2-3, Psalm 90:12, Joshua 24:15)

C – Create an environment or outlet in which you can utilize your God-given gifts according to the measure of faith and grace given you.  Romans 12:3-8

U – Understand God’s calling on your life (Proverbs 3:4-5), undertake the challenges (Romans 12:1-2), and use His resources to fulfill your potential (I Thessalonians 5:24, Philippians 1:6, II Timothy 1:7). 

S – Apply the 7 S’s.

  1. Seek Him first. (Matthew 6:33)
  2. Speak the truth in love. (Ephesians 4:15) 
  3. Separate yourself from sin. (Hebrews 12:1)
  4. Stand firm in your faith. (I Corinthians 16:13)
  5. Simplify your life. (Luke 10:41-42) 
  6. Show your faith by your works. (James 2:18) 
  7. Shine like a star in a dark world.  (Philippians 2:13-16)

Would you like to join me on this journey to overcome SADD? Perhaps we can encourage one another along the way. Tune in next week for another meeting for overcomers. That’s us!

focus

Comments
8 Responses to “Overcoming SADD – Focus, Focus, Focus!”
  1. christen adams says:

    Love, love, love this! I have said that I have adult onset ADHD–but, I think your diagnosis is more correct! I am going to read this to the girls in my Bible study this week! Never too old, my friend, Moses was 80 when he got the green light from the Lord!
    Perfect timing to read your blog–it has given me just what I needed to hear! I will remember your acronym and ask the Lord to help me apply it!
    xoxo

  2. Good stuff, Liz! And I’m right there with ya on the SADD. Love your 7 S-tips 🙂

  3. Mary Beth says:

    Excellent Mom, once again the Lord uses your willingness to be vulnerable to minister and teach others. I am thinking we all have SADD and tools to stay focused are invaluable. Love you.

    • Thanks, dear one for your comment. I guess you’re right. We all have challenges in focusing on our spiritual growth, don’t we? Aren’t we glad God’s grace is abundant, sufficient and not dependent upon our getting it right?

  4. Lollie beck says:

    Amen! Guess I’m ADD and SADD! Love your creativity!

    • Thanks for checking in, sweet daughter. I wondered what you thought of the post. We’ve had so many conversations about ADD. We have a lot in common, for sure. Thanks for the encouragement.

      Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

