The Best Ever Pimiento Cheese

Okay, for those who’ve asked for my secret recipe for pimiento cheese, here it is. Our daughter, Lisa didn’t want me to post it on myblog because she and her friend Amy plan to feature it when they open a coffee shop type business.  I’m finally giving it out for two reasons. The first is obvious. When will these two gals ever find the time to open a business? Sorry, girls! Second, it really isn’t my recipe. It’s a Southern Living recipe-May, 2010 (Our Favorite Pimiento Cheese). I’ve thought about tweaking it to make it my own, though.   

By the way, I apologize to those of you who don’t want to add the calories and cholesterol to your diet. I understand perfectly; I haven’t eaten it since January when I started Weight Watchers. But now that I’v e reached my goal, guess how I’m going to celebrate! I may even try to figure a way to make it less fattening and still delicious. I’ll let you know if it works. Meanwhile, enjoy. Don’t worry about eating too much; the rest of your family will devour it before you get a second helping. 🙂

TEXTURE DOES MATTER. The SL recipe calls for using the small side of the box grater. In my opinion, (thanks to my sister, Christine)it’s worth it to buy a rotary cheese grater like a Moulie. Mine is a Papa Francesco’s Rotary Grater by Fante’s, around $20. It’s stainless steel and dishwasher safe. Lisa ordered it for me on line.

THE BEST EVER PIMIENTO CHEESE    

  • 1½ cups high-quality mayonnaise, such as Hellman’s or Duke’s
  • 1(4-oz.) jar diced pimiento, drained
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp. finely grated onion
  • ¼ tsp. ground red pepper
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 (8-oz) block extra-sharp Cheddar cheese
  • 1 (8-oz.) block sharp Cheddar cheese

*MAKE THE MAYO MIXTURE

In a large bowl, stir together the mayonnaise, pimiento, Worcestershire sauce, onion and  red pepper until blended.

*TOAST THE PECANS

Toasting brings out the rich flavor of the nuts. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Bake pecans in a single layer in a shallow pan 8 to 10 minutes or until toasted and fragrant, stirring halfway through. (Stirring helps to ensure even browning.)

*SHRED THE CHEESE

Preferably use the rotary grater for shredding. If you use a box grater, finely shred the extra-sharp cheese. And then use the large side to coarsely shred the sharp cheese. Fresh cheese makes a difference.

*STIR AND ENJOY

Add pecans and shredded cheeses to mayo mixture stirring until blended. You can store it in the refrigerator up to 1 week. Serve with celery sticks and assorted crackers, or make a grilled pimiento cheese sandwich in a skillet or Panini press. I just put it on regular bread for sandwiches. I used to be the only one in my family who would eat pimiento cheese. With this recipe and my rotary grater, everybody loves it!

Comments
7 Responses to “The Best Ever Pimiento Cheese”
  1. vondaskelton says:

    Sounds YUMMY! I love homemade pimento cheese…HATE store-bought pimento cheese! I’ll never go to the trouble to make it, but it sounds exactly like something I’d love!

  2. I’m with Vonda — LOVE it but wouldn’t dare buy it from a store. Yuck. I make my own, but it’s usually just freshly grated cheddar with pimento and Duke’s. I’m looking forward to trying yours and having some new flavors!

    Thanks, Liz. Hugs from VA 🙂

    • Thanks, girls, for checking in. Glad you enjoyed getting my pimiento cheese recipe. I can assure you it’s worth the trouble to make it. Vonda, praying for the conference, for you and for Bethany. Susan, hope all is well with you and your family.

      Love you both, Liz

  3. Lollie beck says:

    Do you deliver? I want a P.C. Sandwich, but don’t want to make it!

  4. {Main St. Cuisine} says:

    My Mom makes a really yummy pimiento cheese, but your recipe is a little different than how she prepares hers. I did try a store-bought brand awhile back and it just wasn’t the same texture or taste as my Mom’s. Thanks for sharing your secret recipe!

Leave a Reply

