Crumbs – From the Horse’s Mouth to Our Hearts

 “A horse is the projection of peoples’ dreams about themselves – strong, powerful, beautiful – and it has the capability of giving us escape from our mundane existence.” Pam Brown

                                         

“The outside of a horse is good for the inside of a man.” Winston Churchill

          “An animal’s eyes have the power to speak a great language.” Martin Buber, I and Thou

 

“He has galloped through young girl’s dreams, added richness to grown women’s lives, and served men in war and strife.”  Toni Robinson

 

“Arabian horses have compact bodies that suggest strength and speed. Their backs are short, and ideally they have well sloping shoulders, and powerful hindquarters. Arabian horses have elegant arched necks, fine silky manes and tails and a refined head. The Arabian horse’s physical presence suggests refinement, power, agility, and elegance.” Katherine Blocksdorf 

“To know the Arabian horse is to love him.” Unknown

          “Nothing is more sacred as the bond between a horse and a rider. No other creature can ever become so emotionally close to a human as a horse. When a horse dies, the memory lives on, because an enormous part of his owner’s heart, soul, and the very existence dies also.” Stephanie M Thorn

 “Here bring your wounded hearts, here tell your anguish; Earth has no sorrow that Heaven cannot heal.” Thomas More 

                                                        

“In darkness God’s truth shines most clear.” Corrie Ten Boom, The Hiding Place

“God is doing a greater work in us, and that can only come as we learn to trust him no matter how dark the days and sleepless the nights. And it is only as we have been through the darkness with him that what we know with our heads slides down into our hearts, and our hearts no longer demand answers. The Why? becomes unimportant when we believe that God can and will redeem the pain for our good and his glory…. When I put the sovereignty of God beside his unfailing love, my heart can rest.”     Verdell Davis

“When I can’t ride anymore, I shall still keep horses as long as I can hobble about with a bucket and a wheelbarrow. When I can’t hobble, I shall roll my wheelchair out to the fence of the field where my horses graze, and watch them.” Monica Dickens, “Talking of Horses…”

 “God forbid that I should go to any Heaven in which there are no horses.” R.B. Cunninghame Graham, letter to Theodore Roosevelt

“And I saw heaven opened, and behold a white horse; and he that sat upon him was called Faithful and True, and in righteousness he doth judge and make war.” Revelation 19:11

Comments
7 Responses to “Crumbs – From the Horse’s Mouth to Our Hearts”
  1. YAY – I’m so happy you’re back with your tweetable quotes! I love your Wednesday posts!

  2. Lisa says:

    Wow Mama…these are perfect for me! Thanks for finding them and helping me through this grieving process. I am so thankful for you!

    • Thanks, Lis, for your comment. I’m so glad the quotes were helpful to you. I’m thankful for you, as well. What would my life be without you? I can’t imagine! Love you, Mom

  3. Sherry Tyler says:

    Liz,
    Your words are such a gift from the Lord. It is wondeful that you can minister to Lisa and all of us through them. Thanks!
    With love,
    Sherry T.

    • Thanks Sherry for your encouragement. I appreciate you so much. We’re so very blessed, aren’t we? There’s not much we can do for our kids financially. But hopefully, their heritage from our two families will continue to be a blessing to them.

      Love you, Liz

      • james welsh says:

        WOW!!!!!!! This is so powerful, I don’t know what awards they have for outstanding BLOGGING but you surely should win one. I’m at the business center here at the hotel in Calgary the kids and parents are at the waterpark that is part of the hotel. We have had some wonderful experiences and some not. Two nights ago we decided around 6:00pm to go to a lake to cook-out. I think the moskitoes(sic) ate more than we did. It was a nightmare and even Brian got out of sorts. For the most part the trip has been wonderful and the kids are real travelers as has been Tanner. I’m writing on comments because I know you will pick this up sooner. I really miss being with you when there is so much to see. We will be here until tomorrow then head into Montanna and I’ll be able to talk on the phone. Hope you can capture God’s voice in the letter as you have with this recent Blog. Love, Jay

      • What a surprise to get a comment from you, dear husband. Thanks for your encouragement. I don’t know how I did it without you here to edit it. I know the Paynes are grateful to you for helping them make the long drive for the big move. Enjoy, but we all miss you so can’t wait for you to get home.

Leave a Reply

