From the Horse’s Mouth to Our Hearts

Our daughter, Lisa loves animals—all kinds—dogs, cats and especially horses. Animals come and animals go. But some capture the heart of their masters in a unique way. Such was the case with Lisa and Laizer, her beautiful black Arabian horse. Bred for endurance , he was born to run. Just as Lisa was born to ride. And run, they did.

          They participated in endurance races with Lisa’s friend Amy and her horse, Promise. It was as if when they ran,  horses became one with their riders. Recently, they ran a night race that started as an adventure but turned into a nightmare. The endurance world is very well organized. The health and welfare of the horses is their number one concern. They all love the sport, but they love the horses more. Troughs are provided on the trail for hydration, and vets are placed along the way to check for muscle spasms, the horses’ heart rate, etc.

Due to complications, Laizer and Promise were pulled from the race.  Although they were disappointed, Lisa and Amy didn’t think much about it. It wasn’t an unusual thing to happen. The vets at the race had treated both horses with fluids and electrolytes. At the time, they seemed to be okay.

Later, the girls drove home, washed down the horses and got them settled. Lisa stayed with Laizer all the next day under a shade tree, pouring cool water on him and watching him. When his condition got worse, the vet suggested she take him to the University of Georgia Veterinary Hospital.

Not an easy matter. By then, Laizer could hardly walk. They tied ropes around him and finally pulled and coaxed him out of the stall and on to the trailer. As the family laid hands on him and prayed, I thought of a song called The Hurt and the Healer. Althought we prayed for God to heal Laizer, it was not to be. Instead, the Healer would soon confront the hurt in Lisa’s heart.  

After examining Laizer, the doctors diagnosed his condition as acute renal failure and laminitis, a disease that affects horses’ feet. They would have to put him down. Lisa was devastated. As she was signing the papers, much to everyone’s surprise, Laizer took a couple of steps toward her. He  nuzzled her arm as if to say, “It’s okay. You can let me go.” Everyone in the room was crying, including the doctors.

Laizer and Lisa were kindred spirits. And now, he’s gone, along with a large piece of her heart. Our son-in-law Brad made a keen observation when he said, “Lisa and Laizer had the same personality.” And they did. Like her, he was warm, social, and faithful. 

Together, our family mourns the loss of Laizer. But together we lean heavily on our Lord, the Creator who said the following to Job.

“. . . ask the animals, and they will teach you, or the birds of the air, and they will tell you; or speak to the earth, and it will teach you, or let the fish of the sea inform you. Which of all these does not know that the hand of the Lord has done this? In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind. . . .” Job 12: 7-12

                                If Laizer could have talked, he would have said to Lisa, “God is sovereign. My life and yours are in His hand.” There we have it, the truth. How do we know Job’s information about God is credible, trustworthy and dependable? We know because it came straight from the horse’s mouth to our hearts.

This side of heaven, we sometimes have to walk through the shadow of death. (Psalm 23) But the good news is we don’t have to stay there. How does one get over the pain of death and loss? Yes, it takes time. But the real healing comes when the glory meets the suffering and the hurt collides with the healer.  If you haven’t heard the song, check out this Music video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xzaivDbu9c

Comments
18 Responses to “From the Horse’s Mouth to Our Hearts”
  1. Millie says:

    Perfectly captured, Mom!

  2. Lisa says:

    I love you Mama! Thanks for this, it means more than I can find words through my tears to express.

    • I love you, too. I couldn’t not do it. I had to get it out of my heart. We’re so blessed to have the Lord and one another at times like these. Keep allowing Him to heal your heart and to leave those special memories to bless you. Mom

  3. Renee Thiebaud says:

    Wow!!! It is amazing how you are able to tell this story so beautifully. I am still crying. My prayers are with you all, especially Lisa.

    • Thanks, Renee for your comment and encouragement. And thanks for your heart-felt sympathy and your prayers, as well. God is at work as He continues to heal Lisa’s heart. Love you, Liz

  4. harriett says:

    Dear Lisa and Liz, having had horses, I know what a sad time to lose a friend like that! The bond is so special, somewhat like a dog or cat! Their loyalty is like no other. Thinking of you! Harriett

  5. Lollie beck says:

    Mom, so beautifully written! My heart has been hurting for her all week.

  6. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    Thank you, once again, for allowing the Lord to use you to express such words of healing. What a special tribute. Tears continue, even now by the pool in Grand Prarie Canada. I praise the Lord for the amazing opportunity Lisa had to develop such a special bond and pray to Him as He heals her heart.

    • And thank you for your encouragement. I don’t know if I answered this or not, but I suppose duplication is better than omission, right? I appreciate so much your tender heart and commitment to our family. You’ve been such a wonderful role model for your sisters and a blessing to your parents.

      Enjoy the trip for me. How I wish I was with y’all.

      I love you. Mom

  7. What a beautiful story, Liz. What a sweet blessing you are to your family! I’ll bet your daughters rise up and call you blessed 🙂
    Hugs to you and Lisa!

    • Thanks, Susan. I know I can say the same about you and your children. God is good, isn’t He? We both know all blessings are due to His grace. And His grace is always sufficient, regardless of our mistakes. He does have a way of working all things together for good when we love and trust Him.

      Hugs back to you, Liz

  8. Kim says:

    Aunt Liz this touched me in a very special way. So wonderfully written and it really captures the
    the strong bond that we have with our animals. They give such unconditional love. I gained much strength from listening to the song and hope it will help me in my own journey with Tucker. Give my love to Lisa. I will keep her and your family in my prayers. Love, Kim

    • Hi Kim,
      Thanks so much for your comment. I appreciate your encouragement. Tucker has been such a faithful friend to you, hasn’t he? I pray you will experience God’s presence in your journey with him.
      Love you, Aunt Liz

  9. Deborah Fields says:

    My precious friend-devastating is the word that comes to my mind!!!! I know how much Lisa loves her horses. How comforting your sweet words were to her and others who read this. What joy to see the love all of you have for one another-so blessed to know all the Welsh clan!!!!!

    • Thanks, Deborah. Your sweet words are such an encouragement to me and I know Lisa appreciates your concern, as well. She’s doing better. The grief comes and goes, but is less painful now. God is good! Love you, Liz

  10. Carol Williams says:

    Liz,
    What sweet words. Thank you for telling us the story. I have been keeping Lisa and the family in my prayers. Love yall and hope to see you soon.
    Carol

Leave a Reply

