Fixers Extraordinaire

Christians who have studied the Bible know well the teaching of Romans 8:28. We cut our spiritual teeth on the truth of God’s love and sovereignty. To us, God’s promise rings loud and clear. “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Yes, we believe it, but do we live like we believe it?

When bad things happen to those we care about, what do we do? Some panic; some worry and some of us report for duty as Fixers Extraordinaire. 

As women, it’s our job to be on guard 24/7, isn’t it? Who else is going to prevent our family and friends from making irreparable mistakes?

      By the way, men, you aren’t exempt from the F.E. Club. As a conscientious family man, what do you do when your wife or children express a need or problem? You strap on your tool belt and go to work, don’t you? After all, it’s your God-given duty. Or is it?

I wonder what God thinks about us playing god on His behalf. Does He gaze down with an appreciative smile and say, “Bless their hearts. They’re such good little helpers. What would I do without them?” It’s a ludicrous scenario, isn’t it? 

When we allow God to be God in the lives of others, we may discover we’re the ones who need fixing. Oswald Chambers reminds us to learn to focus on God, to worship Him during difficult circumstances with others. “He will change them for the better if He so chooses . . . the goal of faithfulness is not that we will do work for God, but that He will be free to do His work through us.”

How then can we be sure God’s purpose will prevail in the concerns of those we love? God assigns us to the task of trusting Him. He may call us to action in the situation. Or He may tell us to be still, be quiet and pray.

God’s call will always involve sacrifice. The Greek word for sacrifice means to slay or annihilate. We must get rid of our right to be right and our need to be fixers. God’s overall purpose is to use us as He used His own Son. And how was that?

  • As a sacrifice of praise – Hebrews 10:7 & Luke 22:42 – Are you willing to exalt God by desiring His will more than your own?
  • As a sacrifice of service – Matthew 20:26-28 – Are you willing to focus on serving rather than being served?
  • As a sacrifice of purpose – Ephesians 1:3-12 – Have you dedicated your life to the purpose of God’s will over the pursuit of your own success?
  • As a sacrifice of joy – Hebrews 12:1-2 – Are you willing to obey God when it’s difficult? Not for immediate results, but for the joy set before you in the future? 

Why would God require less of us than He did His own Son? Besides, it’s not near as demanding as taking on the self-inflicted role of Fixer Extraordinaire. What happens if we relinquish the responsibility of fixing others? We’ll have more time and energy to answer God’s call to service, sacrifice and joy. Since everything He does for and through us is for our good, it’s a win/win. Isn’t it?

Comments
6 Responses to “Fixers Extraordinaire”
  1. Thought-provoking, Liz. I especially like what you said about making sacrifices, and in particular – purpose. Sometimes I act like my purpose is to be a Fixer!!
    Blessings to you this week, sweet friend 🙂

    • Thanks Susan for your comment. I know what you mean. It’s our natural instinct to be fixers, isn’t it? I guess that’s why it was on my mind. I appreciate your enouragement.

      Liz

  2. Sandy aasen says:

    Your thoughts are exactly what I’ve been learning lately. Going through Stephen Minister Training, we are learning that we are the caregivers but God is the “curegiver”. My job is to be a faith-filled caregiver, trusting in God’s cure, not trying to fix the problem myself for my carereceiver. Thanks for the reminder, put in such a well expressed image, because I need to be reminded!!!
    I hope you get your computer woes straightened out.
    Sandy

    • Thanks, Sandy. Would you believe within 24 hours of writing the post, I had two situation where I was ready to strap on my fixing tool belt. I guess because I had just dealt with the subject, I was reminded to stop and not take on what was not my responsibility. So, I did. I’m learning the hard way, but God is patient with us, isn’t He?

  3. Harriett Salley says:

    This one was for me!!! It is so hard not to try to “Fix It”, to just sit by and watch when I know I could help! As I am learning to Halt!!!—God gently takes care of the problem, without my help! Sometimes I feel left out but how rewarding When the right answer works without me! I have to realize “it is not about me but about God! I have a cousin who calls me “Billy Graham, Jr, as he had been the object of my “attention”. I finally have let him go and let God take care of him. His situation is not good but as his health declines, there are small little gllmpses that God iss winning! LET GO AND LET GOD!!! Harriett

Leave a Reply

