Crumbs – Good News from a Distant Land

Recipe for a Military Spouse (unknown source)

  • 1 1/2 cups Patience
  • 1 cup Courage
  • 3/4 cup Tolerance
  • dash of Adventure
  • 1 pound of Ability

To the above ingredients:

  1. Add 2 tablespoons elbow grease and let stand alone for one year.
  2. Marinate frequently with salty tears.
  3. Pour off excess fat and sprinkle ever so lightly with money then Knead dough until payday
  4. Season with international spices.
  5. Bake 20 years or until done. Makes unlimited servings. SERVE WITH PRIDE.

“America’s fighting men and women sacrifice much to ensure that our great nation stays free. We owe a debt of gratitude to the soldiers that have paid the ultimate price for this cause, as well as for those who are blessed enough to return from the battlefield unscathed.” Allen Boyd

                                                                

“These are times that try men’s souls; the summer soldier and the sunshine patriot will, in this crisis, shrink from the service of his country; but he that stands it now, deserves the love and thanks of man and woman. Tyranny, like hell, is not easily conquered; yet we have this consolation with us, that the harder the conflict, the more glorious the triumph.” Thomas Paine

   

“. . . Blessed is the man who fears the Lord, who finds great delight in his commands. . . . His children will be mighty in the land; the generation of the upright will be blessed. . . Good will come to him who is generous and lends freely, who conducts his affairs with justice. . . He will have no fear of bad news; his heart is steadfast, trusting in the Lord. His heart is secure, he will have no fear; in the end he will look in triumph on his foes.” Psalm 112:1-2, 5, 7-8

“God of our fathers, who by land and sea have ever led us to victory, please continue your inspiring guidance in this the greatest of all conflicts. Strengthen my soul so that the weakening instinct or self-preservation, which besets all of us in battle, shall not bind me to my duty to my own manhood, to the glory of my calling, and to my mutual confidence which insures success in war. Let me not mourn for the men who have died fighting, but rather let me be glad that such heroes have lived. If it be my lot to die, let me do so with courage and honor in a manner which will bring the greatest harm to the enemy, and please, oh Lord, protect and guide those I shall leave behind. Give us the victory, Lord.” General George S. Patton (American General in World War I and II, 1885-1945)

          “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? . . . Though an army may encamp against me, my heart shall not fear; though war may rise up against me, in this I will be confident.” Psalm 27:1&3

“By profession, I am a soldier and take pride in that fact. But I am prouder, infinitely prouder, to be a father.” General Douglas MacArthur

                                       

     “You, O Lord, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light. With your help I can advance against a troop; with my God I can scale a wall. As for God, his way is perfect; the word of the Lord is flawless. He is a shield for all who take refuge in him.” Psalm 18:28-30

                                                          

(photos accredited to JR Ancheta and Dreamstime Free Images)

Comments
4 Responses to “Crumbs – Good News from a Distant Land”
  1. Harriett Salley says:

    How exciting Brian will be home soon!! Know they can hardly wait! Hope you will get to go visit them. Maybe they will get to come to S.C.!! Hope all is well with you. Let’s
    go out soon. Love, Salley

  2. Love this post, Liz. My daughter is dating a young man who’s getting ready to graduate from West Point. If their relationship stays on its current path, she will be an Army wife and will need all the above!!

    • Thanks again for the comment. I’m excited for your daughter. If it works out for them, you can know they’ll be well cared for. We’ve been so impressed with army life. For the most part, they stick together like family. Katie has had a wondeful ministry with the wives, especially while their husbands are deployed.

Leave a Reply

