The Woman Who Threw Her Bible Under the Bed

                    Have you ever been so frustrated you threw your Bible under the bed? I once heard a speaker say she did exactly that. Like you, I was shocked. How could she do such a thing? I’ve heard you shouldn’t set the Bible on the floor. But to throw it under the bed? Oh my!

This woman had become exasperated with trying to live the Christian life in her own strength. Finally, she cried out to God, “I give up,” and slung her Bible under the bed. Can you guess what happened next? No, she wasn’t struck by lightning.

“At that moment,” she told us, “the angels in heaven must have shouted ‘Hallelujah, she’s finally given up!’”

Knowing God’s commands and obeying them are two very different things. I don’t know about you but I want to love God with all my heart, soul and strength and to love my neighbor as myself. I want to stay true to God’s standards. Am I able to do this? Not by a long shot! Not in my own strength.

Good news! God never intended for us to depend upon our own resources to live the Christian life. He does expect us to draw upon His living water. Consider the woman who met Jesus at the well. When He offered her living water, she replied, “Sir, you have nothing to draw with and the well is too deep. Where can you get this living water?” Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this (well) water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” (See John 4:7-24.)

Has your spiritual well dried up? Do you thirst for renewed hope in a hopeless situation? Are you parched from trudging through a desert of pain and sorrow? Do you long for a fresh supply of “first love” joy? The kind you experienced when the love of Christ first captured your heart?

Is your well of need so deep you’ve lost sight of the stirring of the water on your behalf? The woman who met Jesus thought the well was too deep for Him to draw water. And yet Jesus understood her better than she understood herself. And He offered her living water. How did she respond to this stranger who claimed to be the Messiah? She went to tell the people and “they came out of town and made their way toward him.”

Have you been to the well and met the Messiah? Are you allowing Him to stir the waters of faith in you? Are you trusting His Spirit to fill up your dry places? Is His living water welling up in you and into the lives of the ones you bring to the well?

Drink up, my friend. God’s well will never run dry. Oh, and retrieve your Bible from under the bed. You’ll need it!

                                                                                                                                                    

                                                                             

Comments
5 Responses to “The Woman Who Threw Her Bible Under the Bed”
  1. A dry well is a sure sign of busy-ness, which is something I’m guilty of. Thanks for the reminder to sit in His presence and so He can fill me!

    Hope you enjoyed your time away. Glad you’re back!!

  2. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    Welcome back!

  3. Sandy aasen says:

    Liz: I love what you wrote. Thanks for those thoughts!!! Sandy

Leave a Reply

