Crumbs – The Woman Who Threw Her Bible Under the Bed

“For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it . . . . What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!” Romans 7:19-20, 24-25

                                                             

“Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”           Romans 8:1

                  

“Jesus take the wheel
Take it from my hands
Cause I can’t do this on my own
I’m letting go
So give me one more chance
To save me from this road I’m on
Jesus take the wheel.”

Jesus Take the Wheel, Carrie Underwood

                                                                                                              

“A well-used Bible that is falling apart usually belongs to a person who isn’t.”  Earl H. Merritt

                                                                                                    

“In the 2000 summer Olympics, the USA women’s softball team won its second gold-medal. Lisa Fernandez is their pitcher. One commentator says that she is ‘arguably the best women’s softball pitcher the world has ever seen. She has found a source of strength and support that bridges all the highs and lows, strikeouts and home runs that life throws her way.’                                                                                                      CBN, 700 Club interview, Michael Rasnick)

This is what Lisa Fernandez says: ‘Being with God and walking as one [with him] has definitely fulfilled me. He’s filled the voids in my life. When I feel insecure about myself and I’m not sure where I’m going, I can turn to Him and open up the Bible. I can read a passage, and all of a sudden, my world has changed and my view is clear.’” (Rasnick, ibid)

                                                               

“Christ is not a reservoir but a spring. His life is continual, active and ever passing on with an outflow as necessary as its inflow. If we do not perpetually draw the fresh supply from the living Fountain, we shall either grow stagnant or empty. It is, therefore, not so much a perpetual fullness as a perpetual filling.”  A.B. Simpson

 
          “Oh, how inexhaustible are God’s resources and God’s wisdom and God’s knowledge! How impossible it is to search into His decrees or trace His footsteps!”    Weymouth New Testament

                                                                                    

“So let us know, let us press on to know the Lord. His going forth is as certain as the dawn; And He will come to us, like the rain, like the spring rain watering the earth.”    

Hosea 6:3

“. . . Let the Word of God be at home in you. Don’t put yourself on a spiritual starvation diet. Don’t starve to death in a house full of the best food available. Feast upon the Bread of Life. This faithful course will allow us to receive the ‘spring rain’ that God faithfully sends so that we will not become spiritually dry.” Gail Slawson

And how are we, like the woman at the well, to take people to Jesus? Casting Crowns sings it well in this song.

“So love them like Jesus, love them like Jesus. You don’t need the answers to all of life’s questions. Just know that He loves them and stay by their side. Love them like Jesus. Love them like Jesus.”

                                                                                     

So, how do we do this? By applying this prayer:

“May the God of hope fill (us) with all joy and peace as (we) trust in him, so that (we) may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

                                                                                             

Comments
2 Responses to “Crumbs – The Woman Who Threw Her Bible Under the Bed”
  1. Lisa Fernandez is wise beyond her years! And I love that you closed with Romans 15:13. It’s important to remember that the joy and peace comes AS we trust, not before! Great reminder to step OUT!

Leave a Reply

