Crumbs: The Secret to a Happy Heart

For the secret to a happy heart, find your answer through the words of:

*SCIENCE:                       

Can someone die from a broken heart? It’s known to medical science as ‘Broken Heart Syndrome.’ The condition is rarely fatal but can lead to death in association with other response such as the suppression of the immune system. The medical term for this condition is called ‘Takotsubo Cardiomyopathy’ by the Japanese doctors who discovered it in 1991 or more commonly simply ‘Stress-induced Cardiomyopathy.’”

*A HUMORIST:                        

“A man in a bookstore buys a book on loneliness and every woman in the store hits on him. A woman buys a book on loneliness and the store clears out.” Doug Coupland

*A PHILOSOPHER:                                                    

“Contentment is a pearl of great price, and whoever procures it at the expense of ten thousand desires makes a wise and a happy purchase.” John Balguy

*A WISE WOMAN: “If the Lord sets you to guard a lonely post in perfect stillness from all active work, you ought to be just as content as to be in the midst of the active warfare. It is no virtue to love the Master’s work better than the Master’s will.” Hannah Whitall Smith

                                                                                                       

*A PRIEST/WRITER: “Resentment and gratitude cannot coexist, since resentment blocks the perception and experience of life as a gift. My resentment tells me that I don’t receive what I deserve. It always manifests itself in envy.” Henri J. M. Nouwen Nouwen Centre

                                                                                     

*ME: “When the lover of your soul reigns as King of your heart, your worldly needs pale in light of God’s desires for you.”

                  

*OUR TWO SINGLE DAUGHTERS: (their comments in response to our tribute to them in Monday’s post: For Lonely Hearts on Valentine’s Day)

“Thank you, Mom, for such special words. Just prior to reading this I had my prayer time and had just prayed giving thanks for I am so loved by family, friends, and most importantly, the Lord. A love that, in deed, surpasses all knowledge, is undeserved and can’t be earned but also can’t be lost. I have learned over the years that when I truly felt lonely it had nothing to do with who was or wasn’t around. The worst loneliness is felt when I have shut the Lord out and that is painful. However, that is when I am most thankful for love that can’t be lost, I am so blessed and all of your daughters are blessed and are who we are because of your faithfulness. I love you! OH, and Happy Valentine’s Day. :-)” Mary Beth

“Gosh Mom! I almost didn’t even read this bc my heart ISN’T lonely! Really…not in the Valentine’s Day sort of lonely! Glad I did – you made me teary! 🙂 Thanks for the sweet words! P.S Tell Dad NOT to send candy…I’m losing the lbs and don’t need that for comfort!!! :). LOVE YOU!” Millie

*GOD’S WORD:

                 “A happy heart makes the face cheerful, but heartache crushes the spirit.” Proverbs 15:13

                                                                                                                 

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:18

                                                                                   

“I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.”     Philippians 4:12-13 The Message

Who holds the key to your heart?

Comments
2 Responses to “Crumbs: The Secret to a Happy Heart”
  1. Barbara Eastman says:

    On loneliness. I finally accepted myself the way I am and I can enjoy the quite with The Lords help.

    • That’s certainly a big part of the secret, isn’t it? For all of us. Barb, you’re a lovely woman with a tender heart. Just the way God created you to be.

      Thanks for checking in and for your vulnerability.

      Liz

Leave a Reply

