Warning! Learning Curve Ahead

                                                                                                               

When is the last time you were overwhelmed by a learning curve? Life seems to be filled with them. When we face a new challenge, wouldn’t it be convenient if someone would warn us or at least prepare us. “Warning! Learning curve ahead. Turn here to find an easier route.”

At my age, why can’t I make do with what I already know? I realize that’s not much. But I’ve made it thus far without my ignorance getting me in too much trouble. Granted, there were some narrow escapes. I remember my first day in a history class at the University of Georgia. The professor appeared before the students and introduced himself. He then proceeded to give us an assignment. “Get out your pen and paper and write down everything you know about history.”

The only words that came to mind were “In the beginning. . . .” And then, my brain froze. I suppose I did receive a warning from a not-so-still small voice. “Drop this course while you can. This learning curve is way too steep for you.”

I handed in a blank sheet of paper and hurried outside where I could breathe. You would think this horrifying experience would have caused me to avoid learning curves. Not so. I’ve spent a lifetime facing challenges beyond my confidence level, as well as my comfort zone.

And now I’ve entered the Golden Years, supposedly the easier years. And what do I do? Last year, I started this blog. Since my computer knowledge was laughable, my patient friend Claire helped me get started. And here I am! No more learning curves, right? Wrong!

I now have a phone that is much smarter than me and I don’t know if I’ll ever get the hang of it. I’ve also been told as a writer, I need to be on Facebook. And now, Twitter! Oh my, shades of yesteryear. I’m beginning to hyperventilate.

Our granddaughter Amanda set me up on Facebook, but I’ve never checked it. And our middle daughter Millie set up a Twitter account for me. If you want to follow my Tweeting, check out my address: ElizabethWelsh_  (Notice it has an underscore at the end. )

While I’m venting, I need to share one more self-inflicted challenge with you. This past week, I joined Weight Watchers. And now I have a slew of material to read in order to understand the point system. It’s all an enigma to me. But I’ve already paid for the month so I can’t take a detour to avoid the learning curve.

I do hope you’ll pray for me. It’s obvious I need it, isn’t it? Next week, I’ll share what God is teaching me about our spiritual learning curve. The other day, I decided to study the subject. After five minutes into the first passage, I was overwhelmed with how much there is to learn about the information God has for us and what we’re to do with it.

          Someone once asked, “How do you eat an elephant?” The answer: “One bite at a time.” So that’s what I’ll be doing in my study this week. Spiritually speaking. An elephant has way too many WW points to consider eating one.

This I leave with you. When we’re overwhelmed with what we don’t know, God’s Word remind us that:

  • God has hidden His truths from the wise and learned of the world and revealed them to “little children” who’re dependent upon Him. See Matthew 11:25-27

Meanwhile, are you overwhelmed? Is life’s learning curve too steep for you? Let’s agree to camp out on Matthew 11:28-30. Here it’s taken from The Message.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”    (The underline is my emphasis.)

How about that for a challenge? And how about that promise?

 Rhythms of Grace

Comments
7 Responses to “Warning! Learning Curve Ahead”
  1. Millie says:

    Well done, Mom! I love that you are still a LEARNER even into this latter part of life! That humbles and inspires me!

  2. Liz, you’re my hero! I hope I’m as fearless as you when I grow up 🙂

    • Thanks Susan, but me, your hero? Oh my, I’m not fearless at all. You are and will continue to be fearless, too. Why? Because we both serve a powerful God who promises to dispel our fears and move us forward. Our part: BELIEVE! Right? Liz

  3. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    You are dong amazing well with all those learning curves!!!! Most importantly, you are not alone. I look forward to facing spiritual learning curves with you. On a practical level I have experienced a lot of that with Zeke. Sometimes, most of the time, I feel so inadequate. I am not a dog trainger; that takes years of experience to know dogs. I am learning and right now mostly on my own although I can ask questions. The other day I stepped back, prayed and knowing the Lord has allowed me this opportunity for a reason, and I plugged ahead one step at time. Taking apart the whole, learning and doing in the small steps that hopefully one day will add up to finished, trained product. The question: who is learning more me or Zeke? 🙂 I love you and am very proud of your willingness to tackle those learning curves whatever they may be.

  4. Renee Thiebaud says:

    You are amazing Liz! You are an inspiration to me and have made such a difference in my life with your weekly blogs. Keep learning and sharing. Love, Renee

Leave a Reply

