No Resolutions! 12 Requests for 2012

                                                                     

I resolve to make no resolutions for 2012. I’m not proficient at setting goals and making things happen. But I do have desires. Therefore, I’m only making requests.

How about you? Goals or not, I know you have desires for the coming year. After all, God does promise to give us the desires of our heart. That is, if we delight in Him. Psalm 37:3-6 also promises if we commit our way to Him, He will champion our cause.

Why would He make such a bizarre promise? Because when we delight in Him, He forms our desires to fit His purpose for our lives.   

One big request for me is to be effective and productive in my relationships, as well as my life pursuits.  I’ll admit I struggle with being and doing all God wants me to be and do. What prevents you from fulfilling your desires, as well as your potential?

You may think it’s a lack of resources, intellect and ability. But truly, my friend, it isn’t. I know this because I spend a lot of time wishing I were smarter, more disciplined, more capable, etc. etc. etc. And it gets me nowhere except further away from God and His purpose for my life.

      God’s Word teaches this: Our knowledge of Him will determine our degree of effectiveness and productivity. To truly know God is to trust Him and to trust Him is to obey Him. Knowing God leads to delighting in Him. And that leads to contentment and fulfillment.

Practically speaking, how do we delight in God? How do we learn to trust and obey Him? If we’ve received Christ, we already have all the resources we need “for life and godliness through our knowledge of Him.” (See II Peter 1:1-11) 

When we received Christ, God’s Spirit came to live in and through us. Thus, God has already given us the power to become the persons He wants us to be. We also have His promises to guide us toward fulfilling our God-given potential.

In light of this, what are your requests to God for 2012? I invite you to pray the following with me. Feel free to add your own specific requests to my general list.

12 Requests for 2012:

 “Lord, help me . . .

  1. to seek your face when the future looks bleak.
  2. to shine your light when the path is dark.
  3. to encourage others when they grow weary.
  4. to help others to hope when they’re lost in despair.
  5. to speak the truth when needed, but only in love.
  6. to listen more intently when I tend to talk too much.
  7. to rejoice in others’ success when they need a champion.
  8. to obey your Word when I can’t feel your Spirit.
  9. to trust your heart when I can’t see your hand.
  10. to go where you say when I’d rather stay.
  11. to hold to my vision when doubts prevail.
  12. to walk in your Spirit when tempted by the flesh.

 All of this to one end, for your glory.”                     

                                                           

“Everything that goes into a life of pleasing God has been miraculously given to us by getting to know, personally and intimately, the One who invited us to God. The best invitation we ever received! We were also given absolutely terrific promises to pass on to you—your tickets to participation in the life of God after you turned your back on a world corrupted by lust.”  II Peter 1:3-4 The Message

Comments
6 Responses to “No Resolutions! 12 Requests for 2012”
  1. I love this one, Liz! My article for Karis this month is about not making resolutions but pressing on and becoming more like Jesus. I love your 12 steps — great way to start the new year!

  2. christen adams says:

    I absolutely love this post! I never make resolutions, because I always feel like a failure! Requesting is such a better way of looking at it! Going to incorporate this in my own life~ I so want my desires to be His desires.
    Love you!
    Christen

  3. Harriett Salley says:

    YOU HAVE HEARD MY MOANING ABOUT THE STUDYING I AM DOING FOR MY DEACON
    ORDINATION. i AM “DOER” INSTEAD OF A HISTORIAN. YOU CAN’T BELIEVE THE SCRIPTURES THAT HAVE PASSED MY WAY WHILE STUDYING! ALL OF THEM SAY TRUST IN ME AND I WILL DIRECT YOUR PATH!!! From God’s word to my ears!!!
    Thanks for your encouragement. Harriett

    • And thank you for yours. God is going to use your gift of service, I know. It’s another step in your many years of serving others. It’s your God-given gift so He will continue to use it to your good and His glory.
      Love you, Liz

Leave a Reply

