Crumbs – Calling All Worry Warts

The opposite of worry and fear is peace of mind and heart. But where does peace come from and how do we get it? Psalm 29:11 promises “. . . the Lord blesses his people with peace.” Isaiah 26:3 assures us God will keep in perfect peace the one whose mind is steadfast and who trusts him. And Jesus left us with the promise of the Holy Spirit and the peace that ministers to our troubled hearts.   

 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” Jesus (John 14:27)

“For God did not give us a spirit of timidity (fear), but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.” II Timothy 1:7

“He has taken me to the banquet hall and his banner over me is love.” Song of Songs 2:4

   “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you no much more valuable than they?” Matthew 6:25

“Resting in the Lord is not dependent on your external circumstances at all, but on your relationship with God Himself. . .                         

Reflecting His peace is the proof that you’re right with God.” Oswald Chambers

       Oswald Chambers also reminds us the birds “function is to obey the instincts God placed within them, and God watches over them. Jesus said that if you have the right relationship with Him and will obey His Spirit within you, then God will care for your ‘feathers’ too.”

“When I do obey God, problems come, not between me and God, but as a means to keep my mind examining with amazement the revealed truth of God.” Oswald Chambers

“The typical view of the Christian life is that it means being delivered from all adversity. But it actually means being delivered in adversity.” Oswald Chambers

                                                      

”And in despair I bowed my head: ‘There is no peace on earth,’ I said, ‘For hate is strong, and mocks the song of peace on earth, good will to me.’ Yet pealed the bells more loud and deep: ‘God is not dead, nor doth He sleep; The wrong shall fail, the right prevail, With peace on earth, Good will to men.” I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day (verses 3-4)

Are you listening? Do you hear the bells? Regardless of your past, your problems, your religion or your rituals, they’re ringing personally for you and for me.

May God’s Spirit fill you with love, joy and peace this Christmas and beyond!

                                                                 

(Note: See you in January!)

Comments
4 Responses to “Crumbs – Calling All Worry Warts”
  1. Thank you another great reminder. I needed to hear that today!
    Merry Christmas!

  2. Susan says:

    Love it! Enjoy some time off and have a wonderful CHRISTmas 🙂

  3. Carolyn says:

    Send me your email address so I can send you the recipe from Monday night.

Leave a Reply

