Crumbs – On Death and Dying – A Tribute

    “The story of a love is not important – what is important is that one is capable of love. It is perhaps the only glimpse we are permitted of eternity.”   Helen Hayes

                                                                      

“Those who have the strength and the love to sit with a dying patient in the silence that goes beyond words will know that this moment is neither frightening nor painful, but a peaceful cessation of the functioning of the body.”  Elisabeth Kubler-Ross
 
“For death is no more than a turning of us over from time to eternity.”
William Penn

                                                         

“I’ve told my children that when I die, to release balloons in the sky to celebrate that I graduated. For me, death is a graduation.”  Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

   “We need to teach the next generation of children from day one that they are responsible for their lives. Mankind’s greatest gift, also its greatest curse, is that we have free choice. We can make our choices built from love or from fear.” Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

                                                                           

“He may look on death with joy, who can look on forgiveness with faith.” Thomas Watson

                                                                    

“Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: whosoever liveth and believeth in me shall never die.”  John 11:25, 26

 “Live, so you do not have to look back and say: ‘God, how I have wasted my life.’” Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

    In his song, “Live Like You Were Dying,” Tim McGraw relates the thoughts of a young man who reflects on what he did when he learned he was dying.

“I went sky divin’,
I went rocky mountain climbin’,
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull name Fumanchu.
And I loved deeper,
And I spoke sweeter,
And I gave forgiveness I’ve been denying,
And he said someday I hope you get the chance,
To live like you were dyin’.”

                                                                        

“It’s only when we truly know and understand that we have a limited time on earth – and that we have no way of knowing when our time is up, we will then begin to live each day to the fullest, as if it was the only one we had.”  Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

“Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.”  Isaiah 46:4 NIV

                                                                            

Comments
3 Responses to “Crumbs – On Death and Dying – A Tribute”
  1. claire says:

    poignant today – thanks Liz………..

  2. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    Let the healing continue…..

Leave a Reply

