For His Eyes Only

  Have you ever lost anything that couldn’t be replaced? After retiring from 36 years of ministry, I began my pursuit of a more serious writing life. I wanted to stay on track with God’s purpose for my writing. So, I made a decision to spend quality time with God every day before writing.

Intrigued by my mother-in-law’s life story, I had an idea for a book. Thus began my first attempt at writing fiction. That year was challenging, yet rewarding. For some reason unknown to me, motivation and discipline weren’t a problem. Day and/or night, I wrote with abandon.

That year, I completed the first draft of a novel. To my surprise, I realized I had also written the essence of a devotional book on God’s grace. Since then, I’ve continued to plod through the grueling maze of what to do with my endeavors.

This whole process has taught me a lot about myself. Apparently, much of what I learned was preparation for what God really wanted to teach me about my writing.  One day, the hard drive on our computer crashed. Poof! Almost everything was gone. At least, I thought it was. I was devastated. This wasn’t supposed to happen to a new computer, was it? So not true!

I had saved the book on a flash drive. Yet, I failed to back up much of what I’d written for two years. How could I get past the emotional pain of loss? And more important, what could I learn from this experience?Somewhere in the midst of all those lost words, I remembered praying, “God, if my work never gets published, that’s okay. If I’ve written it all for your eyes only, that’s enough.”  Was God testing the validity of my claim? Had I truly been writing for God? If so, my words were not lost to Him. They had served their purpose.

Are you dealing with loss or disappointment? Perhaps you’re struggling with a much greater loss than mere  words. I hope you’ll allow me to share what I learned through my dilemma. When we commit something or someone to God, we have a responsibility. How can we transform loss and disappointment into gain and peace of mind? Let’s call our part the four R’s: Release, Realize, Remember and Respond.

  1. We release our hold on what we’ve given to God. No clinging out of fear and no taking back the control. When we trust God with our desires, He gives us peace.   
  2. We realize God’s purpose rarely ever coincides with our own. After all, God is God and we’re not.
  3. We remember God loves us and is sovereign over our circumstances.
  4. We respond to our circumstances with faith, rather than react out of fear.

Consider the Apostle Paul’s thoughts on the matter. “But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish that I may gain Christ.” Philippians 3:7-8 

I may have lost a lot of words that won’t run through my head again. But I haven’t lost the one most important thing in my life—the ongoing peace of mind and heart Jesus gives.  

Regardless of loss or disappointment, we can rest in this fact. Whatever we commit to God, He will protect and propagate for His purpose and for our good. Why would we want it any other way?

                                                                 

Note: *Check out the Crumbs section for various quotes and scriptures, as well as a poem by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow called Loss and Gain.

*Next week I’m taking off, so I’ll connect with you again soon.

Comments
3 Responses to “For His Eyes Only”
  1. Millie says:

    Awesome, Mom! Love the “r” words!! LOVE YOU!!

  2. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    I agree awesome, Mom, We are so blessed to have you setting such and example of being a godly woman and your willingness to lay yourself out before others so that we all might learn from what God has taught you is amazing. Love you, and wondering why Millie was up at 2:44 am?

  3. Sandy aasen says:

    Thanks for your thoughts , Liz. So true. I’ve discovered that in God’s economy, loss equals gain!!!
    Have a great time on the mountains. Sandy

Leave a Reply

