Crumbs – For His Eyes Only

Loss and Gain by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow   

When I compare
What I have lost with what I have gained,
What I have missed with what attained,
Little room do I find for pride.

I am aware
How many days have been idly spent;
How like an arrow the good intent
Has fallen short or been turned aside.

But who shall dare
To measure loss and gain in this wise?
Defeat may be victory in disguise;
The lowest ebb is the turn of the tide.                                                   

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:6-7

“(God) doesn’t ask, ‘Do you want to go through this loss of a loved one, this difficulty, or this defeat?’ No, He allows these things for His own purpose. The things we are going through are either making us sweeter, better, and nobler men and women, or they are making us more critical and fault-finding, and more insistent on our own way.” Oswald Chambers My Utmost for His Highest

 

“It’s how you react to your circumstances that shapes you.”  Anne Ortlund Disciplines of the Heart

 “Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27b

                                                      

 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives.” John 14:27a

   “If our hopes seem to be experiencing disappointment right now, it simply means that they are being purified. Every hope or dream of the human mind will be fulfilled if it is noble and of God.” Oswald Chambers My Utmost for His Highest

“He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep, to gain what he cannot lose.” Jim Elliott (martyred taking the gospel to the Auca Indians)

                                                       

Leave a Reply

