Crumbs – Unforgiveness, Part One

                                                                        

“Unforgiveness is the single most popular poison that the enemy uses against God’s people, and it is one of the deadliest poisons a person can take spiritually.” Cornel Marais

                                                                            

“One day I talked to a Hindu man, Kamlesh. He told me that he had studied the religions of the World and only one offered forgiveness of sins. His words to me were, ‘I have a great respect for Christianity because it is the only religion that offers forgiveness of sins.’” Ken Bassett We All Need Our Sins Forgiven

“The only religion that offers forgiveness on the basis of the life and death of a substitute Savior is Christianity.” Dr. Robert A. Morey, Ph.D., D. Min., D.D.

                                          

“Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret. . . .” II Corinthians 7:10a

                                                                        

“Forgiveness is not an emotion but is an act of the will, as we set our will to do God’s will. God will honor our obedience and will fill us with his love and power. As you pray for your offender you will begin to feel the compassion and love that the Lord has for them and you will experience a release and a freedom as a result. Deborah Finley, What Your Future Holds and What You Can Do To Change It

                                                                                         

     At a church service in Munich, Corrie Ten Boom met the former SS man who had stood guard at the shower room door in the processing centre at Ravensbruck. Horrible memories flooded her heart as he approached her. This is her account:                              [“How grateful I am for your message Fräulein”, he said “To think that, as you say, He has washed my sins away!” His hand was thrust out to shake mine. And I, who had preached so often to the people in Bloemendaal the need to forgive, kept my hand at my side. Even as the angry, vengeful thoughts boiled through me, I saw the sin of them. Jesus Christ had died for this man; was I going to ask for more? Lord Jesus, I prayed, forgive me and help me to forgive him. I tried to smile, I struggled to raise my hand. I could not. I felt nothing, not the slightest spark of warmth or charity. And so again I breathed a silent prayer. Jesus, I prayed, I cannot forgive him. Give me Your forgiveness. As I took his hand the most incredible thing happened. From my shoulder along my arm and through my hand a current seemed to pass from me to him, while into my heart sprang a love for this stranger that almost overwhelmed me. And so I discovered that it is not on our forgiveness any more than on our goodness that the world’s healing hinges, but on His. When He tells us to love our enemies, He gives, along with the command, the love itself.] 

                                                                 Corrie ten Boom

“Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord.” Acts 3:19

                                                                         

Do you harbor unforgiveness in your heart? It could be a boiling hostility or a simmering resentment. Or, perhaps you suffer from a sin-sick heart. Have you yet to receive God’s forgiveness? It’s been made possible for you through Jesus’ death on the cross for you. Regardless of your age, your religion, or your spiritual condition—you can come. You can climb up on your heavenly Father’s lap and share your failures and fears with Him. Someone once said, “It’s a lot easier to hug a dirty kid than a stiff one.” If you’re a dirty kid, all you have to do is come. He’ll take care of the dirt. If you’re a stiff kid, how’s that working for you? It isn’t, is it? Bring your cold heart to Him. His arms are open extra wide for you. Feel His loving arms embrace you. Once you do, the barnacles around your heart will fall off. For the one who comes to Him, mercy triumphs over judgment. Nothing is too difficult for Him.” ELW

                                                               

Comments
One Response to “Crumbs – Unforgiveness, Part One”
  1. Kathy Biedenharn says:

    Liz, I remember when I first heard this story. It was when you told it at Tonya’s house on the hill. I can still recall how it touched my heart, for to me, Corrie ten Boom had every right to show righteous anger, yet she did not. She let the loving forgiveness of her Father in heaven show love and forgiveness through her. Sometimes I know in my own human weakness I cannot do what He askes but when I ask Him to do it through me, He does and it is then that I feel the complete power of my Savior. Thank you for reminding me of this amazing example of the power of forgiveness.

    Love and miss you,

    Kathy Biedenharn

Leave a Reply

