Recipes: Guest Blogger, Jackie Brown

Mom on a Mission for Christ

I’m a blessed mom of four children. I have one in elementary, one entering middle school, one entering pre-school and one entering toddler hood (she just learned to toddle her first steps this month). My life is a whirlwind of events, but nothing is more important to me than spending time at the foot of Jesus. As my Savior, He’s provides me with everything I need, including talents and abilities to cook and freeze in quantity. As a former home economics teacher, the Lord’s given me a passion to be a missionary at home from my very own kitchen.

While I’m preparing healthy food for my family, I double and freeze everything-I mean everything. I’m able to serve my family a delicious meal within with in fifteen minutes. I also have “extra” in the freezer for those in need.

I love to teach the fun fundamentals of freezer cooking to all women. It’s such a money, time and energy saver in my life. I find great joy in passing on this baton of information to others. This education helps women become a better stewards of God’s money, resources and time.

Providing a simple frozen meal warms the heart and soul of others. Most of my recipes are simple, nutritious and whole foods. For example, no-boil three cheese manicotti is a family favorite that feeds six to eight people. It’s easily prepared without a bowl or spoon and piped into manicotti that’s not been boiled. Yes, it’s that easy and you can find the recipe here.

I also mix my own homemade bread from scratch in a plastic shoebox in five minutes. It’s made from white whole wheat flour which is healthier and heavenly baked in a variety of breads I make from cinnamon rolls to buttered garlic naan. They’re all made from the same 5-minute dough. Check out my posts on Artisan Bread Dough 101.

Eating healthy is a journey and we feed our bodies in a variety of ways. Women can not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord (Deut. 8.3).

Have you read about the Proverbs 31 woman? Just like her, we must feed our family. Can we provide for our family WHILE opening our arms to the poor and extending our hands to the needy (Prov. 31:15, 20)? I believe so. Freezer cooking in bulk provides ways for us to be Christ to those around us. Giving a frozen meal to a new mom, elderly or sick are ways I can be a “Mom on a Mission for Christ.” Gathering a group of women and preparing freezer meals to the homeless is another way I’ve been blessed. Through our non-profit sister site, Cook and Play ministries, moms have served over 1,260 women and children in the past three years.

Freezer cooking is not a new thing. Serving Christ through freezer cooking is a NEW thing. God is doing great and exciting things through a mom in an apron with a baby on her hip and a toddler in tow.

Please visit my blog, Mom On A Mission for exciting ministry ideas, freezer tutorials, God’s Word in action, and the nuts and bolts of cooking, freezing and re-heating. I’ll leave the oven light on for you.

Taste and see that the Lord is Good. Psalm 34:8

Comments
3 Responses to “Recipes: Guest Blogger, Jackie Brown”
  1. Hi Jackie! It’s so good to see you here on Liz’s site. I can’t believe all you’re able to do–and with four kids! I pray God continues to bless you and your sweet family!

  2. Jackie Brown says:

    Hi Vonda, thanks for stopping by. I greatly appreciate all I learned from you. I’m adding to the bucket of stories daily with my 3 yr old. He let 4 of our chickens out this week and put a baby 1 day old chick in a large oatmeal canister and shook it up. We almost had a scrambled chick…

Leave a Reply

