Crumbs – High-Stakes Praying

                                                                                        

How sweet is rest after fatigue! How sweet will heaven be when our journey is ended. George Whitefield

The prevailing idea seems to be, that I come to God and ask Him for something that I want, and that I expect Him to give me that which I have asked. But this is a most dishonouring and degading conception. The popular belief reduces God to a servant, our servant: doing our bidding, performing our pleasure, granting our desires. No, prayer is a coming to God, telling Him my need, committing my way unto the Lord, and leaving Him to deal with it as seemeth Him best. Arthur W. Pink

                                                                                                 

He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and he began to be sorrowful and troubled. Then he said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.” Matthew 26:37-38

About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?”—which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” Matthew 27:46

                                                                                        

God sweetens outward pain with inward peace. Thomas Watson

                                              

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8

He committed no sin, and no deceit was found in his mouth. When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats. Instead, he entrusted himself to him who judges justly. He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed. I Peter 2:22-24

                                                                                                          

Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him, endured the cross. Hebrews 12:2

                                                

Divine sovereignty is not the sovereignty of a tyrannical Despot, but the exercised pleasure of One who is infinitely wise and good! Because God is infinitely wise He cannot err, and because He is infinitely righteous He will not do wrong. Here then is the preciousness of this truth. The mere fact itself that God’s will is irresistible and irreversible fills me with fear, but once I realize that God wills only that which is good, my heart is made to rejoice. Arthur W. Pink

                                                                                                            

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. James 1:2-4

                                                              

Comments
2 Responses to “Crumbs – High-Stakes Praying”
  1. Oh my, Liz! What a wonderful blog! Just so glad we met on Monday. You’ve set the bar pretty high for newbies like me. take care.
    CA
    confessionsofafraidycat.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

