Positive Faith Dresses for Battle

   Never in our life time has the battle between good and evil been so magnified. Evil continues to manifest itself in bizarre and unthinkable ways. Reports of corruption and malice have become so common we’re no longer shocked by them. Dismayed, yes—but surprised—not so much.

Where does all the evil come from? God’s Word speaks of the devil as the father of lies, a murderer, and the source of evil. (John 8:44 & I John 3:8)   As believers, we concur this is true. But do we realize the enemy of our souls has a personal agenda concerning each of us individually? (I Peter 5:8-9)   Since he can’t lay claim to our souls, (Ephesians 1:13-14) his purpose is to render us faithless and ineffective. His strategy?  To attack us where we’re the most vulnerable.

The disturbing news is he knows our weak spots. The reassuring news is he has no power over us as long as our positive faith is intact. He is far more afraid of us than we ever should be of him. (James 4:7)

Are you prepared to protect yourself, regardless of what the enemy throws at you?  Take heart. If your positive faith is dressed for battle, you’ll have a shield of protection against all manners of evil. (Ephesians 6:6-18)  

My mind is my most vulnerable battleground. The skirmish is subtle, but scary because it sometimes feels like a battle for my sanity. I’ve never been a worrier or an unusually fearful person. Not until a few years ago.  

At the time, we lived in New York City, working with a ministry to diplomats and their wives at the United Nations. Saddled with constant back pain, I eventually developed insomnia. The dark, sleepless nights wreaked havoc with my emotions. There were times I wondered if I was losing my mind.

I slowly emerged from my funk, due to three things. *The prayers of family, friends/co-workers held me together spiritually and bolstered my hope. *A Christian counselor helped me realize how impending transitions, as well as our health problems had weighed heavily upon me. *Thankfully, a caring friend provided for us access to a surgeon who operated on my back, which finally relieved the pain.

In our darkest times, it sometimes takes a while for our emotions to catch up with what we know to be truth. What are we to do when we lack emotional peace?  The following helped me:

  1. Confess your sin of worry and unbelief. (I John 1:9)
  2. Claim by faith God’s Word as your lifeline to victory over darkness. (Psalm 119:105)
  3. By an act of the will, occupy your heart and mind with positive and good things. (Romans 12:1-2)
  4. Pray. In times of distraction, extreme worry or pain, it’s often difficult to focus enough to pray. It helps me to personalize God’s Word and pray it back to Him. Sometimes when I can’t sleep, I pray through the alphabet, using each letter to praise God for His various attributes and works. It may sound trite, but it works. I may or may not  fall asleep before I’m finished. Either way, praising God helps me to shut the door on anxiety and open it to peace.

 What is your area of vulnerability?  Is it misplaced priorities, incessant worrying, or perhaps apathy toward the things of God? I encourage you to prayerfully spend more time in His Word. The more you apply what you learn, the more you’ll experiencer positive faith. When you can’t feel God’s presence or see His hand, trust His Word. And then act upon it with positive faith. By an act of the will, refuse to continue in a mere pretense of faith. No need to lurk in the shadows of fear, confusion, and/or unbelief. Not when you can pursue your battles with confidence.  

*Important Note: When you find you can’t cope with life, don’t hesitate to ask for help. Whether you need medication, counseling, or support in prayer—get the help you need.

(Don’t forget to check out the Crumbs section. There, you’ll find ammunition to help you win the battle against anything that robs you of your joy and hinders your positive faith.)

                                                                                                         

Leave a Reply

