Curried Chicken Salad – Healthy but Tasty Recipe

Last week, I called for healthy but tasty recipes. My friend, Sandy responded with the one below. By the way, I’d love for you to share your favorite recipes with those of us reading this blog. Either leave a comment or send me an email. Who knows, perhaps we’ll co-write a cookbook some day!

Even if you don’t need to lose weight, I believe Sandy’s note will encourage you to eat healthy, as it did me. Thanks, Sandy.

{Liz: I’m sending you two recipes, but for now I only have time to write out one. I want to encourage you in your weight loss journey to keep on being faithful, constantly returning to healthy eating habits, over and over again. In the past year and a half I’ve lost 18 pounds and have kept it off. I’m still gradually losing, an average of a pound a month. Some would give up in view of such slow progress but I can say it’s worth it to keep on plugging! Switching to healthy eating habits has been the key for me.

Here’s my favorite “lunch” salad recipe. It’s low cal because it’s made with yogurt, not mayo. Also I love curry so that makes it my favorite. I make it up and give myself a 1/2 cup serving on lettuce or spinach leaves with a small side portion of whole wheat bread/roll/cracker etc. If you’re the only one eating it, I’d cut it in half. Enjoy, knowing it’s good for you, too!}  Sandy

  Curried Chicken Salad

  • 3 cups cooked chicken cubed
  • 1 med. apple chopped fine (with skin)
  • 1/4 c. slivered almonds. toasted
  • 2 Tbs. raisins
  • 2 Tbs. dried cranberries
  • 1/2 c. yogurt (I use low fat vanilla)
  • 1/4 c. apricot preserves (or a similar variety)
  • 2 Tbs. curry powder
  • 1 Tbs. dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teas. salt and pepper

It helps to mix the yogurt, preserves and seasonings before adding the meat, apple and fruit.

Leave a Reply

