Greek Baked Halibut – Positive Faith Goes to Court

You must know by now God has been working on my heart concerning food. Since my reasoning session with the Lord, I’ve decided I need to practice the things I’ve been sharing with you. As of yesterday, my husband and I are  counting calories to regain control over our eating habits and to lose weight. Unless I want to go into an even larger size clothes, I need to make drastic changes. Therefore, I’m asking for your help. Of course, I need your prayers, but I also need nutritional but GOOD AND TASTY recipes. I’ll still post the decadent ones for periodic treats but I’d like to concentrate for awhile on healthy recipes. If you have recipes you’d like to share with the rest of us, please send them to me at elizabethwelsh2@gmail.com . Meanwhile, here’s a recipe from a very old Good Housekeeping Cook Book for Calorie Watchers I found in a thrift store.

    Greek Baked Halibut (320 Calories per serving)

  • 1/2 tbsp. cooking oil
  • 2 medium onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 1 16-oz. can tomatoes (Since you can’t get this size can any more, use your own judgment.)
  • 1 tbsp. tomato paste (optional)
  • 2 chicken bouillon cubes
  • 3 fresh halibut steaks, cut about 3/4-inch thick (about 1 1/2 pounds)
  • 3 thin tomato slices
  • 3 thin lemon slices

About 1 hour before serving: In large skillet over medium heat, saute in oil the onions and garlic until golden.  Add parsley, salt, pepper, canned tomatoes, tomato paste and bouillon cubes; simmer, uncovered 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place fish steaks in medium (about 12″ by 8″ by 2″) baking dish; cover with tomato sauce; top with tomato and lemon slices. Bake 20 to 25 minutes, or until fish flakes with a fork. Makes 3 servings.

Comments
2 Responses to “Greek Baked Halibut – Positive Faith Goes to Court”
  1. claire says:

    yummy!
    Thanks Liz!

  2. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    That sounds wonderful. Believe it or not we are all counting calories as well. We also tend to try new recipes so we will pass along the ones that are good. Love you and praying for you, Mary Beth

Leave a Reply

