Positive Faith Dreams Big

  Are you enjoying our train trip to Positive Faith? I’ll bet you’re hungry by now, so follow me, and we’ll make our way to the dining car named Desires. There we’ll find just what we need to whet our appetites for our main course, Positive Faith.

Here we are. Let’s take our seats and check out the menu called Life’s Fare, the Best of the Best. It says here Satisfaction Guaranteed: One pre-requisite. “Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4

The choices are numerous and everything looks good. What do you think? What do you want more than anything else? I’m not talking about our favorite foods, as tempting as that is. Nor am I suggesting frivolous, fleeting things. In your heart of hearts, what do you desire more than anything in this life? Is it happiness, success, or perhaps good health? I imagine one thing you desire is to be the person God wants you to be and to make a difference in the lives of the people you love. Perhaps your greatest desire is to experience the reality of a life-long dream come true.

I dare you to dream. Perhaps you don’t consider yourself a dreamer. You’re a realist, you say. That’s okay. As a realist, I dare you to ask God to give you an aspiration, a hope for something that will stretch you beyond your easy zone, something that you dare not attempt apart from His work in your life. Now, let your imagination run wild. Think as big as God allows you to think, without laughing hysterically. On second thought; go ahead; laugh. Enjoy your fantasy, for out of that may very well become God’s fulfillment of your dream.

                                                                                                                      

Consider God’s promise in Ephesians 3:20. “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.” I’m going to step way out on a limb to tell you how I applied this. You may think I’m delusional, but here goes. I decided to relate this verse to my desire to become an accomplished writer. I prayed something like this: “God, I’m going to trust you to do more than I can ask or imagine with my writing and I’m going to trust the power of the Holy Spirit to work within me to accomplish your will for my writing.”

I decided to stretch my imagination to its very limit. The most bizarre, unbelievable thing I could envision was the possibility that my series of three novels would not only be written and published, but also made into movies. In spite of feeling like an idiot, I did learn something out of this exercise in positive faith. I gained the assurance that God’s will for my writing may not be according to my wild imagination, that my book/s may never be finished or make it to the big screen. However, I do believe now with positive faith  that’s God’s will for my writing may very well go beyond what I can ask or imagine, to something of far greater value in His plan.

And He will do the same for you. However, we do need to check and double-check what we consider God’s direction. If we desire His will more than our own, He will confirm His leading—not just once, but over and over—and in many different ways. Besides scripture, He may use life circumstances, people, and even the preacher’s sermon on Sunday to get His point across.

So, again I dare you to dream big with me. Perhaps your dream has been in your heart for years, waiting to be realized. Don’t stop believing just because it hasn’t happened yet. God won’t forsake you or your dream! We already have the power of Christ in us. It would be a shame to waste such a valuable resource, don’t you think? What is it that releases the power within us? Positive faith! In other words, anything you can dream up in your mind, God is able to top in reality. So, focus on God and His will, and dream big with positive faith!

Comments
2 Responses to “Positive Faith Dreams Big”
  1. Millie says:

    Mom! If it worked to dream big dreams for OTHERS – we’d be popping popcorn and watching the series of your books on TV!!!! glad we can trust God’s got a plan even when He only unfolds it piece by piece!! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

