Boarding the Train to Positive Faith

    Have you ever boarded a train of thought, only to wonder if you’re on the right track?  One afternoon, I tuned into a talk show featuring various experts on getting the most out of life through positive thinking.  One person had written a book on how to heal oneself.  Another author/life coach offered suggestions on how to discover and successfully pursue one’s purpose in life.

They discussed the idea of focusing on life goals, the hypothesis being if we believe in our dreams and act upon our desires, we’ll be able to order our lives in a way to make things happen.  

Perhaps I could learn something from this, I reasoned.  Since my own dream to be an accomplished writer is still dangling between pipe and poof, why not?  As I listened to the success stories of people who had changed their lives by pursuing their dreams, something stirred within me.  The feeling was so strong I became uncomfortable, even frightened by the direction of my thoughts.   

I proceeded to board the train, and then hesitated.  What if God doesn’t want me to take this train?  How could what these people say apply to me?  After all, I reminded myself, my source of power and fulfillment come from the Creator of the universe, not from the universe itself, as inferred by these so-called experts. 

Before I could disembark, another idea hopped on board with me.  For years, many Christians have pooh-poohed the concept of the power of positive thinking as humanistic, man-centered rather than God centered.  Hmmm.  Is it possible we have thrown an important truth off the train along with the threat of traveling with wily deceptions? 

Why wouldn’t God want us to utilize positive thinking—as proof of our faith, not in place of it?  Where does negative thinking come from?  Certainly not from God, and especially not in conjunction with the concept of faith! 

 Had a lack of positive faith short-circuited God’s power in my life? As I pondered this question, I was suddenly energized by the prospect that I was on the right train, after all. Perhaps, by identifying a possible crisis with my faith, I was fast on my way to the solution. 

The whistle blew and the wheels clanked as the train picked up speed. Thus began my study on The Power of Positive Faith, which I’d like to share with you over the next few weeks.  It’s so easy for us to take our faith for granted, giving lip service to a set of ideals rather than truly walking in the power of positive faith.  Are you tracking with me?  If so, may I ask you the same questions I asked myself in my struggle to understand positive faith?

  • Do you sometimes feel as if your prayers aren’t being answered because you don’t have enough faith? 
  • Does negative thinking sometimes send what faith you do have packing? 
  • Do you struggle with doubts concerning the person you believe God wants you to be, as well as the things He wants to accomplish in and through you? 
  • Would you like to pursue and reach your full God-given potential? 
  • Do you long to see God’s power made perfect in your weakness? 

 If so, hop on board with me and we’ll discover together how to appropriate the power of positive faith in our daily lives.  Meanwhile, consider the following words from Oswald Chambers in his book, My Utmost for His Highest..

“We all have many dreams and aspirations when we are young, but sooner or later we realize we have no power to accomplish them.  We cannot do the things we long to do, so our tendency is to think of our dreams and aspirations as dead. . . .    When God sends His inspiration, it comes to us with such miraculous power that we are able to ‘arise from the dead’ and do the impossible. . . .”  

As we travel on this train together, we’ll discover the personal aspect of positive faith, as well as its potential.  We’ll learn that positive faith dreams big, overcomes limitations, and leads to powerful, perhaps even miraculous results.  We’ll also take the high road as positive faith goes to court, dresses for battle, and last but not least, gets a pedicure.I’m excited, aren’t you?  Pack your “bag,” and I’ll meet you next week.  Same day, same station.  All aboard!

                                                                                             

Comments
5 Responses to “Boarding the Train to Positive Faith”
  1. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    Sounds like a great ride and I am looking forward to it!!

  2. harriett salley says:

    you must put this in a devotional style book! How about people who don’t have e-mail!!

  3. Great post with truth and wisdom. I look forward to boarding the train with you.

  4. Lisa says:

    For some reason I can’t get the song “Love Train” outta my head, by the O’Jays!! Hilarious! And I can’t help but picture you in a cute little conductor’s hat Mama!! Make room for me on this train!

Leave a Reply

